Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

DeMuth to head All-Star umpiring crew

Veteran will work third Midsummer Classic
Dana DeMuth will be calling balls and strikes as the crew chief and home-plate umpire in the 80th All-Star Game in St. Louis.

DeMuth, in his 26th season of Major League service and a crew chief since 1999, will be making his third All-Star appearance in the July 14 game at Busch Stadium. DeMuth, 53, was crew chief in the 2008 National League Division Series between the Phillies and Brewers and has worked a total of 13 postseason series, including three World Series.

DeMuth's crew will include Brian Gorman at first base, Jeff Kellogg at second base, Angel Hernandez at third base, Tim Timmons in left field and Paul Nauert in right field. This will be the second All-Star Game for Gorman (1998), Kellogg (1997) and Hernandez (1999), and the first for Timmons and Nauert.

Major League Baseball also announced the official scorers for the game: David O'Brien of the Atlanta Journal Constitution and president of the Baseball Writers' Association of America; Joe Ostermeier of the Belleville News Democrat and the BBWAA St. Louis chapter chair; and longtime St. Louis scorer Gary Mueller.

The Minor League umpiring crew for the XM All-Star Futures Game on Sunday, July 12 also was announced: Matt Schaufert (home plate) of the Southern League, Mike Jarboe (first base) of the Pacific Coast League, Chris Ward (second base) of the Southern League and Shaun Francis (third base) of the Eastern League.

Those four umpires also will work the State Farm Home Run Derby on Monday, July 13. Jarboe and Ward will officiate the Taco Bell All-Star Legends and Celebrity Softball Game.

John Schlegel is a national reporter for and writes an MLBlog, The Grind.