Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

MLB Announces the Thirty Players Nominated for the 2013 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet

MLB Players Recognized for Community Service to Help Celebrate 12th Annual Roberto Clemente Day on September 17th; Beginning on Roberto Clemente Day, Fans Can Vote on for the National Recipient and Register for a Chance to Win a Trip to the 2013 World Series

Major League Baseball and Chevrolet, the official vehicle of Major League Baseball, today announced the names of the 30 Club nominees for the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet. Tomorrow will mark the 12th annual Roberto Clemente Day, which was established by Major League Baseball to honor Clemente's legacy and to officially acknowledge local Club nominees of the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet. The annual Award recognizes a Major League Baseball player who best represents the game of baseball through positive contributions on and off the field, including sportsmanship and community involvement.

The Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet pays tribute to Clemente's achievements and character by recognizing current players who truly understand the value of helping others. The 15-time MLB All-Star and Hall of Famer died in a plane crash on New Year's Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

The 30 Club nominees of the 2013 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet feature twenty-two MLB All-Stars (*=MLB All-Star; ^=nominated while member of former Club):

Arizona Diamondbacks - Aaron Hill*
Atlanta Braves - Tim Hudson*
Baltimore Orioles - Adam Jones*
Boston Red Sox - Craig Breslow
Chicago Cubs - Anthony Rizzo                                                                                                                   
Chicago White Sox - Hector Santiago
Cincinnati Reds - Bronson Arroyo*
Cleveland Indians - Justin Masterson*
Colorado Rockies - Todd Helton*
Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera*
Houston Astros - Jose Altuve*
Kansas City Royals - Billy Butler*
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim - Jered Weaver*
Los Angeles Dodgers - Adrian Gonzalez*
Miami Marlins - Logan Morrison
Milwaukee Brewers - Jonathan Lucroy
Minnesota Twins - Justin Morneau*^                                                                                                          
New York Mets - David Wright*                                                                                                                
New York Yankees - David Robertson*
Oakland Athletics - Sean Doolittle
Philadelphia Phillies - Chase Utley*
Pittsburgh Pirates - Andrew McCutchen*
St. Louis Cardinals - Carlos Beltran*
San Diego Padres - Mark Kotsay
San Francisco Giants - Barry Zito*
Seattle Mariners - Raul Ibañez*
Tampa Bay Rays - David Price*
Texas Rangers - Ian Kinsler*
Toronto Blue Jays - J.P. Arencibia                                                                                                               
Washington Nationals - Ryan Zimmerman*

The distinguished list of past national Roberto Clemente Award recipients includes 14 members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame:

1971, Willie Mays+**
1972, Brooks Robinson+**
1973, Al Kaline+
1974, Willie Stargell+
1975, Lou Brock+
1976, Pete Rose
1977, Rod Carew+
1978, Greg Luzinski
1979, Andre Thornton
1980, Phil Niekro+
1981, Steve Garvey
1982, Ken Singleton    
1983, Cecil Cooper
1984, Ron Guidry
1985, Don Baylor
1986, Garry Maddox
1987, Rick Sutcliffe
1988, Dale Murphy
1989, Gary Carter+
1990, Dave Stewart
1991, Harold Reynolds
1992, Cal Ripken, Jr.+
1993, Barry Larkin+
1994, Dave Winfield+
1995, Ozzie Smith+
1996, Kirby Puckett+
1997, Eric Davis
1998, Sammy Sosa
1999, Tony Gwynn+
2000, Al Leiter
2001, Curt Schilling
2002, Jim Thome
2003, Jamie Moyer
2004, Edgar Martinez
2005, John Smoltz
2006, Carlos Delgado
2007, Craig Biggio
2008, Albert Pujols
2009, Derek Jeter
2010, Tim Wakefield
2011, David Ortiz
2012, Clayton Kershaw
+ Member of the Baseball Hall of Fame
** Originally known as the Commissioner's Award (prior to 1973)

Beginning tomorrow on Roberto Clemente Day, fans are encouraged to participate in the process of selecting the national Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet recipient by visiting, which is powered by MLB Advanced Media, to vote for one of the 30 Club nominees. Voting ends on Sunday, October 6th and participating fans will be automatically registered for a chance to win a trip to the 2013 World Series, where the national winner of the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet will be announced.

The winner of the fan vote will receive one vote among those cast by the selection panel of dignitaries, which includes Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig; MLB Goodwill Ambassador and wife of Roberto Clemente, Vera Clemente; Hall of Fame Broadcaster and the "Spanish Voice of the Los Angeles Dodgers" Jaime Jarrin; MLB Network analysts and former Roberto Clemente Award winners Al Leiter and Harold Reynolds; Hall of Famer and TBS analyst Dennis Eckersley; TBS analyst Buck Martinez; Hall of Famer, ESPN analyst and former Roberto Clemente Award winner Barry Larkin; ESPN analyst and former Roberto Clemente Award winner Rick Sutcliffe; senior correspondent Hal Bodley; Mike Weidman, National Promotions Manager with Chevrolet; and others.

Clubs playing at home on September 17th will recognize their local nominees as part of Roberto Clemente Day ceremonies, while visiting Clubs will honor their nominees before another September home game. As part of the league-wide celebration, the Roberto Clemente Day logo will appear on the bases and the official dugout lineup cards.