Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

No Grand Prize Winner For 13th Straight Year

Beat The Streak® In A Day Returns Tomorrow

NEW YORK, September 26, 2013 - In August, we thought - and hoped - it would be William Bryan, the 30-year-old police officer from Atlanta. It wasn't.

In September, we thought - and hoped - it would be Camille Emily Svendson, a 23-year-old from Colorado, or Clement Uduk, a 25-year-old from Oregon, or Thijs and Evelyn Storms, a married couple from Colorado. It wasn't. It wasn't. And it wasn't.

Therefore, MLB Advanced Media regretfully announces today that for the 13th consecutive season no fan will wear the crown of fantasy baseball immortality as another $5.6 million grand prize goes unclaimed. That makes more than $22 million in combined grand prizes that have not been won by the millions that have tried to break baseball's all-time consecutive game hitting streak of 56 games by playing Beat The Streak Sponsored By Dunkin' Donuts.

This year, it wasn't only Mr. Bryan, Ms. Svendson, Mr. Uduk or the Storms that came within striking distance. There were an all-time record 13 different players who were able to sustain consecutive game hitting streaks over the 40-game plateau. Mr. Bryan's 47 consecutive games, which ended August 10, will finish as the season's longest (earning him $10,000) and the fourth-longest ever, trailing only Mike Karatzia's all-time best 49-game streak in 2007 and a pair of 48-game streaks (Bob Paradise and Steven Summer in 2008 and 2011, respectively).

As the books close on the 2013 regular season with no players left to win the traditional fantasy baseball game, we're bringing back Beat The Streak In A Day Sponsored By Dunkin' Donuts.


How To Play Beat The Streak In A Day

On Friday, September 27, fans may pick 57 Major League batters who they think may get a hit in a game. If anyone succeeds at going 57-for-57 with their picks or the statistical algorithm auto-select picks from the top 150 hitters, MLBAM will award a $5.6 million grand prize.