Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Thirteen free agents receive qualifying offers

Players have until 5 p.m. ET on Nov. 11 to accept one-year, $14.1 million deal

The Red Sox and Yankees led the way on qualifying offers on Monday, each extending three of their free agents a one-year, $14.1 million contract for the 2014 season.

In total, 13 Major League players were given a qualifying offer.

The World Series champion Red Sox made offers to Jacoby Ellsbury, Mike Napoli and Stephen Drew, while choosing not to make an offer to catcher Jarrod Saltalamacchia.

2014 draft order
Below is the order of the first round of the 2014 First-Year Player Draft as it stands following the deadline for accepting/refusing qualifying offers.
(Complete Draft order here)
Round 1  
1. Astros 17. Orioles
2. Marlins 18. Yankees
3. White Sox 19. Royals
4. Cubs 20. Nationals
5. Twins 21. Reds
6. Mariners 22. Rangers
7. Phillies 23. Rays
8. Rockies 24. Indians
9. Blue Jays 25. Dodgers
10. Mets 26. Tigers
11. Blue Jays* 27. Pirates
12. Brewers 28. Athletics
13. Padres 29. Braves
14. Giants 30. Red Sox
15. Angels 31. Cardinals
16. D-backs  
Comp Round A**  
32. Mariners (Morales)
33. Yankees (Cano/Granderson/Kuroda)
34. Royals (Santana)
35. Reds (Choo)
36. Rangers (Cruz)
37. Indians (Jimenez)
38. Braves (McCann)
39. Red Sox (Drew/Ellsbury/Napoli)
40. Cardinals (Beltran)
41. Yankees (Cano/Granderson/Kuroda)
42. Red Sox (Drew/Ellsbury/Napoli)
43. Yankees (Cano/Granderson/Kuroda)
44. Red Sox (Drew/Ellsbury/Napoli)
* Compensation for not signing 2013 first-round pick Phillip Bickford

** Team will receive comp pick if the free agent in parentheses signs with another team. The signing team forfeits its first-round pick, unless it has one of the first 10 picks in the first round, in which case, it forfeits its second pick.

"In a vacuum, we'd like to have all of [our free agents] back," said Red Sox general manager Ben Cherington. "We'll just have to see how it goes, and we'll continue to talk to all of them and see how the market shapes out."

The Yankees made offers to Robinson Cano, Curtis Granderson and Hiroki Kuroda.

Cano and Ellsbury are expected to shape the free-agent market this offseason, with each likely to land a lucrative long-term contract. Neither is expected to accept Monday's qualifying offer.

Carlos Beltran, Shin-Soo Choo, Nelson Cruz, Ubaldo Jimenez, Brian McCann, Kendrys Morales and Ervin Santana were also presented with qualifying offers by their respective teams.

The deadline for teams to submit qualifying offers was 5 p.m. ET on Monday. The $14.1 million salary was determined by averaging the top 125 player salaries from the 2013 season -- the amount is the same regardless of the free agent. Each player has one week -- until 5 p.m. ET on Nov. 11 -- to accept the offer. If he accepts, the one-year deal is complete. If he rejects it, the team making the offer will receive a compensatory Draft pick between the first and second round (assuming the player signs elsewhere). All compensatory picks will be made between the first and second rounds, in reverse order of winning percentage.

Any team that signs a free agent who was extended a qualifying offer will relinquish its first-round pick. That pick doesn't go directly to the former team, however; it simply dissolves, and the first round gets shorter. The exception is that if the signing team's first pick is in the top 10, it will instead forfeit its next pick.

If a team signs multiple free agents who were extended qualifying offers, it keeps relinquishing its next-highest Draft pick. Only players who have been with a club for the entire 2013 season will be eligible for compensation.

Bartolo Colon, Grant Balfour, Bronson Arroyo and Josh Johnson were notables who did not receive an offer.

Last year, nine players were given qualifying offers and none accepted.

Jason Mastrodonato is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @jmastrodonato.

Carlos Beltran, Robinson Cano, Shin-Soo Choo, Nelson Cruz, Stephen Drew, Jacoby Ellsbury, Curtis Granderson, Ubaldo Jimenez, Hiroki Kuroda, Brian McCann, Kendrys Morales, Mike Napoli, Ervin Santana