Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

AFL medical coordinator Cilladi wins Hemond Award

Dave Cilladi, the Arizona Fall League's medical care coordinator, was named the 2013 recipient of the Roland Hemond Award, given each year to executives who have served the AFL in a key leadership capacity.

Cilladi, who has served as the league's medical care coordinator for the past 12 years, received the award before Wednesday night's contest between Salt River and Scottsdale.

Cilladi's role with the Fall League has been to establish policies and procedures, while and serving as a liaison between the athletic trainers and the local medical community.

After spending six years as the head athletic trainer of the Rockies -- the first six years of the club's existence -- Cilladi has worked with Physiotherapy Associates, assisting ballplayers, while living in Mesa, Ariz.

The award is given annually to a baseball executive who has "provided outstanding service to professional baseball and served the Arizona Fall League in a key leadership capacity." Past winners include Frank Robinson, Al Rosen and Twins general manager Terry Ryan.

Hemond, a three-time winner of Major League Baseball's Executive of the Year Award, has three other awards named after him, including the White Sox Roland Hemond Award, the Baseball America Award and the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) Award.

Previous Roland Hemond Award recipients
2012: Paul Jensen
2011: Dr. Fred Dicke and Dr. Angelo Mattalino
2010: Tim Purpura
2009: Terry Ryan
2008: Rich Garcia
2007: Frank Robinson
2006: Al Rosen and Dick Wagner
2005: Joan McGrath
2004: Bill Murray
2003: Mike Port
2002: Dan O'Brien Sr.
2001: Roland Hemond

AJ Cassavell is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @ajcassavell.