Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

2013 BBWAA Jackie Robinson Rookies of the Year Announced

2013 AL Jackie Robinson
Rookie of the Year

Wil Myers is 3rd Rays Winner

Tampa Bay right fielder Wil Myers, who was called up from the minor leagues June 18 and helped the Rays' push to a wild-card postseason berth, was the American League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in balloting by the BBWAA that was announced on MLB Network.

Myers (.293, 13 HR, 53 RBI) was listed first on 23 of the 30 ballots submitted by two writers representing each league city, second on five ballots and third on one to score 131 points, based on a system that rewards five points for first place, three for second and one for third.

Shortstop Jose Iglesias (.303, 3 HR, 29 RBI), who divided the 2013 season between Boston and Detroit, finished second in the voting with five first-place votes and 80 points. Receiving one first-place vote apiece in the balloting were pitchers Chris Archer (9-7, 3.22 ERA) of the Rays and Dan Straily (10-8, 3.96 ERA) of the Oakland Athletics.

Myers, 22, led AL rookies in RBI, doubles (23), extra-base hits (36), on-base percentage (.354) and slugging (.478) and was tied for first in total bases (160). Myers became the third Tampa Bay player honored, joining Evan Longoria in 2008 and Jeremy Hellickson in 2011.



2013 NL Jackie Robinson
Rookie of the Year

Historic Win for Cuban Jose Fernandez

Miami Marlins righthander Jose Fernandez, who emerged into a staff ace in his first major-league season, was the National League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in balloting by the BBWAA announced on MLB Network.

Fernandez (12-6, 2.19 ERA) placed first on 26 of 30 ballots cast by two writers representing each league city and second on the other four for a total of 142 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only player listed on every ballot and became the first Cuban-born player to win this award in the NL. The only other Cuban-born Rookie of the Year was the 1964 winner in the American League, right fielder Tony Oliva of the Minnesota Twins.

Another Cuban-born player, Los Angeles Dodgers right fielder Yasiel Puig (.319, 19 HR, 42 RBI), was the runner-up in the balloting. He received the other four first-place votes and was second on 25 ballots to total 95 points.

Fernandez, whose ERA ranked second in the majors only to the 1.83 of the Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw, topped rookie pitchers in winning percentage (.667), batting average against (.182) and strikeouts (187 in 172 2/3 innings). It marked the fourth time a Marlins player won the award. Fernandez joined Dontrelle Willis (2003), Hanley Ramirez (2006) and Chris Coghlan (2009).