Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Red Sox well represented with 11 GIBBY nominations

The awards have been pouring in steadily since the Red Sox captured the 2013 World Series title. More could be on the way.

Nine Red Sox players, as well as manager John Farrell and general manager Ben Cherington, were nominated for Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2013 GIBBY trophies -- the ultimate honors of the industry's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 22 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic, regular-season moment and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels.

While Farrell and Cherington are up for Manager of the Year and Executive of the Year, respectively, David Ortiz and Koji Uehara have a chance to take home some hardware in the categories of Hitter of the Year and Closer of the Year. Both are also nominated for the Postseason MVP GIBBY.

Ortiz was fourth in the Majors this season with a .959 OPS while posting a 1.206 OPS in 51 postseason at-bats. He was also walked 16 times in 16 games. Uehara tied a Major League record with seven saves in a single postseason. He's also up for Breakout Pitcher of the Year. Craig Breslow, who began the year in a middle relief role before evolving into a late-inning bridge to Uehara, was nominated for Setup Man of the Year.

Daniel Nava, originally purchased by the Red Sox for $1 out of an independent league, hit .303 with an .831 OPS to earn a nomination as Breakout Hitter of the Year.

Dustin Pedroia and Shane Victorino, who each won Gold Gloves this season, are up for Defensive Player of the Year.

For the Red Sox's progress from last place to first place in the American League East, as well their comeback from the Boston Marathon tragedy, they're up for Storyline of the Year, as well as other awards commemorating key moments during their eventful season.

In the past five years, fans have cast more than 50 million votes across the various GIBBY categories, none of which was restricted to individual League affiliation. Fans can vote through Dec. 1.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Jason Mastrodonato is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @jmastrodonato.

Boston Red Sox, Craig Breslow, Daniel Nava, Dustin Pedroia, Koji Uehara, Shane Victorino