Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

There's more still to come: GIBBY Awards are next

Miggy has led the pack in winning hardware for individual performance this year

With dozens of individual awards handed out in the two weeks since the biggest team trophy of them all was won by the Red Sox and paraded around Boston, one thing is readily apparent.

Miguel Cabrera needs a larger trophy case.

Cabrera repeated a nearly clean sweep of the awards he was eligible to win, capping it off Thursday with his second consecutive American League Most Valuable Player Award and becoming the star of stars in baseball's awards season in 2013.

If there were an award for winning awards, you'd have to etch Cabrera's name on it -- again. The Hank Aaron Award, top honors at the Players Choice Awards, a Silver Slugger and an MVP. It's time to add another wing to the trophy room at Casa Cabrera.

Of course, Cabrera didn't take home everything, sharing the spotlight with a teammate by doubling up with Tigers teammate Max Scherzer, who won his first Cy Young Award.

Similarly, Pittsburgh topped off a trip to the postseason with an MVP in Andrew McCutchen and a Manager of the Year in Clint Hurdle, getting a double dose of shiny hardware to go along with the memories of "Blackout" conditions at PNC Park.

And there were other memorable moments in baseball's November celebration of individual excellence, such as NL Rookie of the Year Jose Fernandez reuniting with his grandmother for the first time since he left Cuba, and a sendoff from his peers for all-time saves king Mariano Rivera, a double winner in the Players Choice Awards.

There is one more set of awards to come next month, when the GIBBY Awards -- Greatness in Baseball Yearly -- are presented during the Winter Meetings in Orlando, Fla. It's the ultimate way to celebrate the game, cheer the greatest performers and remember the biggest moments of the 2013 season.

This year's GIBBYs feature nominees in 22 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBYs also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic, regular-season moment and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels.

In the past five years, fans have cast more than 50 million votes across the various GIBBY categories, none of which is restricted to individual League affiliation. Fan voting runs through Dec. 1.

Now that the November awards have been distributed, one thing that stands out is that the Red Sox got the biggest trophy of all with a team effort. Other than John Farrell finishing second in AL Manager of the Year voting, there weren't a lot of Red Sox to be seen during this season of honoring individual performances. David Ortiz picked up his sixth Silver Slugger as a designated hitter, and second baseman Dustin Pedroia and right fielder Shane Victorino each earned Gold Glove Awards for their defensive prowess -- all worthy of postseason praise.

But in the four major awards, Farrell was the only member of the World Series champs under final consideration. Guess they'll just have to settle for that trophy ringed with pennants.

That said, winning was important in the voting for the Baseball Writers' Association of America awards, all recipients coming from postseason-bound clubs with one exception -- Fernandez of the Marlins.

Here's a look back at baseball's October and November awards, presentation by presentation:

Roberto Clemente Award: It was the first visit to the World Series for Carlos Beltran, and the Cardinals right fielder received an added bonus before Game 3 at Busch Stadium when was presented with the annual honor for the player who best exemplifies Clemente's commitment to community service, making Beltran a hit on and off the field.

Hank Aaron Award: Cabrera won the AL award and Arizona's Paul Goldschmidt earned his first in the NL, as the best hitter in each league was honored prior to Game 4 of the World Series.

Gold Glove Awards: The Royals and Orioles each claimed three awards in the AL, and catcher Yadier Molina of the Cardinals earned his sixth consecutive honor for being the best at his position in his league.

Players Choice Awards: Cabrera was a double winner for top honors of AL Outstanding Player and Player of the Year. McCutchen took NL Outstanding Player, and Clayton Kershaw and Max Scherzer won Pitcher of the Year honors ... hmm, maybe the players knew something about how the rest of the awards would go?

But all else was trumped with the final hurrah for Rivera, who not only was recognized for his great career in being named the Marvin Miller Man of the Year, but also won for what he did on the field this year by being voted the AL Comeback Player of the Year.

Silver Sluggers: Robinson Cano, the Yankees second baseman who is a free agent for the first time, claimed his fourth consecutive silver bat for being the best hitter at his position. Ortiz picked up his sixth Silver Slugger while nine of the 18 recipients were first-timers.

Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: With Fernandez, 21, reuniting with his grandmother, Olga, for the first time since he left Cuba in 2008, being named the NL's top rookie seemed like just another part of a day to remember for the Marlins right-hander. In the AL, Wil Myers, the outfielder who lived up to every bit of the hype, claimed the Rays' third Rookie of the Year Award in the past six seasons.

Manager of the Year: Hurdle was pretty much a shoo-in to be the NL pick, having led the Pirates to the postseason for the first time since 1992. In the AL, Cleveland's Terry Francona, who also led his team to the October party with a tremendous turnaround season, outpointed his former pitching coach in Boston, Farrell, who led the Red Sox to a turnaround to beat them all.

Cy Young: Kershaw won his second in three years, and that puts him in rarified air at age 25. In the AL, Max Scherzer did more than just win 21 games to garner his first.

Most Valuable Player: Both votes were expected to be tight, but neither really was. Cabrera won by almost exactly the same margin as he did last year over Trout, and McCutchen easily outpointed Molina in the NL.

As for Cabrera, with his 2013 haul adding to what he brought home a year ago, he definitely needs to clear some shelf space.

John Schlegel is a national reporter for

Miguel Cabrera, Jose Fernandez, Clayton Kershaw, Andrew McCutchen, Max Scherzer