Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Rivera, Pettitte to be honored by local BBWAA

Pitchers, McCarver to be feted during Jan. 25 ceremony in New York

Yankees pitchers Mariano Rivera and Andy Pettitte, who both retired at the end of the 2013 season, will be honored with the Joe DiMaggio Toast of the Town Award by the New York chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The two Yankees greats will be a celebrated at the chapter's annual dinner on Jan. 25.

Tim McCarver, who retired from the broadcast booth at the conclusion of this year's World Series, also will be honored with the William J. Slocum and Jack Lang Long and Meritorious Service Award.

Others to be honored include Red Sox designated hitter David Ortiz (Babe Ruth Award for postseason MVP) and Boston Strong and the Red Sox (Arthur and Milton Richman You Gotta Have Heart Award).

Cash Kruth is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @cashkruth.
Read More: New York Yankees, Mariano Rivera, Andy Pettitte