Marlins win challenge on Stanton's catch
Video review confirms right fielder held ball before dropping on transfer
SAN FRANCISCO -- Miami Marlins manager Mike Redmond successfully challenged the transfer rule in Friday's 7-5 victory over the Giants when Giancarlo Stanton's catch of Hunter Pence's fly ball was originally ruled a drop by first-base umpire and crew chief Gary Cederstrom.
Angel Pagan led off the fifth with a double. Pence sent a drive into the gap in right-center field that Stanton caught on the run. As he transferred the ball to his throwing hand, it fell to the ground.
Redmond immediately sprang out of the dugout and walked purposefully to Cederstrom. The call was overturned after a two-minute, 11-second review.
"As we talked about in Spring Training, this is a work in progress," Redmond said before the game. "Like the transfer rule -- plays like that are going to be reviewed."
Pagan advanced to third on the play and scored when Buster Posey hit a sacrifice fly, also to Stanton, making the score 5-4 in favor of the Marlins.
Miami is 7-for-8 in replay challenges on the season.