Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Nats challenge, get call overturned vs. Pirates

Replay shows Harrison unable to come up with diving catch

PITTSBURGH -- Nationals manager Matt Williams decided to take advantage of instant replay in the top of the seventh inning and was able to get a call overturned against the Pirates in Sunday's 5-2 victory.

With runners on first and third, one out and Pirates right-hander Vin Mazzaro on the mound, Ian Desmond hit a fly ball to right fielder Josh Harrison, who appeared to make a spectacular diving catch. Jayson Werth ended up scoring on the play.

Williams then went to first-base umpire Tim Welke and wanted to challenge the play. After 3 minutes and 5 seconds, the play was overturned and Desmond was credited with a single.

Williams admitted that from where he was standing he didn't see the ball come out of his glove. Runners were placed on first and second, not first and third like Williams thought should have happened.

"We called up our replay guy and he said to challenge it," Williams said. "I asked Tim, what was the opinion of where [the runner would have been]. I think he is trying to advance to third there, but New York places them. It said place them at first and second. That decision was already made."

Bill Ladson is a reporter for and writes an MLBlog, All Nats All the time. He also can be found on Twitter @WashingNats.
Read More: Washington Nationals, Pittsburgh Pirates, Josh Harrison