Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

news

MLB News

Cordoba exits with left hand contusion

Rule 5 infielder won't start series finale against Tigers
MLB.com

SAN DIEGO -- Despite a red lump on his left hand, Allen Cordoba asked a simple question to manager Andy Green: "Play tomorrow?"

Cordoba, San Diego's shortstop, exited in the third inning of Saturday's 7-3 victory against Detroit with a left hand contusion after a 89 mph sinker from Tigers right-hander Anibal Sanchez hit him near his wrist.

View Full Game Coverage

SAN DIEGO -- Despite a red lump on his left hand, Allen Cordoba asked a simple question to manager Andy Green: "Play tomorrow?"

Cordoba, San Diego's shortstop, exited in the third inning of Saturday's 7-3 victory against Detroit with a left hand contusion after a 89 mph sinker from Tigers right-hander Anibal Sanchez hit him near his wrist.

View Full Game Coverage

Green denied Cordoba's request, saying the Rule 5 draftee won't play in Sunday's series finale before an off-day Monday.

"It's still hurting," Cordoba said through a team interpreter. "Doesn't hurt like it did when I first got hit in the game, but it's still a little tough to close the hand, so we'll see."

A trainer examined Cordoba, removing his left batting glove before walking him to the dugout. Cordoba is batting .248 and has also seen time in the outfield for the Padres.

"A lot of times, I've seen [players] come back and it's not getting better, and when it's not getting better, they find something," Green said. "There's just so many little bones in there, so hopeful that it holds up as negative."

Chase d'Arnaud pinch-ran for Cordoba and stole second before moving to third on a sacrifice bunt by Dinelson Lamet. On the play, Sanchez attempted to catch d'Arnaud at third, but his throw sailed past Nicholas Castellanos, and d'Arnaud scored easily.

d'Arnaud manned short until the bottom of the eighth, when Erick Aybar pinch-hit for him, drawing a walk that preceded Hector Sanchez's go-ahead, pinch-hit home run. Aybar played short in the ninth.

Cordoba was not the only Padre with a wrist scare Saturday.

After Castellanos squibbed a ball in front of home plate in the fifth, catcher Austin Hedges' throw hit Castellanos, who was ruled out for interference after running inside the baseline. But on the play, first baseman Wil Myers' left hand collided with Castellanos as he attempted to make the catch, causing his glove to come off.

Myers, who battled wrist injuries in 2014 and 2015, immediately grimaced and gripped his left wrist. Again, Green and a trainer rushed out, but Myers remained in the game. He checked his wrist periodically over the next couple of frames, but he said he was healthy by the game's end.

"It was one of those plays that it scared me more than anything, especially with my wrist bending back," Myers said. "But after the play, after I calmed down, I realized that everything was fine." 

Nathan Ruiz is a reporter for MLB.com based in San Diego.

San Diego Padres, Allen Cordoba, Wil Myers