Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon


MLB News

Texas Rangers to host Tampa Bay Rays in AL Wild Card tiebreaker Monday

Tickets now on sale for 7:07 p.m. CT tiebreaker; Game will be televised by TBS

Arlington, Texas -- The Texas Rangers will host the Tampa Bay Rays for the second American League Wild Card in the 20th tiebreaker game in Major League history on Monday night at 7:07 p.m. CT at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.

Monday's game will be televised exclusively by TBS.

Arlington, Texas -- The Texas Rangers will host the Tampa Bay Rays for the second American League Wild Card in the 20th tiebreaker game in Major League history on Monday night at 7:07 p.m. CT at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.

Monday's game will be televised exclusively by TBS.

The Rangers and Rays both won today to each finish the scheduled regular season with identical 91-71 records. The winner of the tiebreaker will play the first A.L. Wild Card, the Cleveland Indians (92-70) in the A.L. Wild Card Game on Wednesday night in Cleveland at 8:07 p.m. ET.

Tickets for Monday's tiebreaker are now on sale at and the Rangers Ballpark in Arlington first base ticket office, which will remain open for approximately two hours after today's game. On Monday, fans can purchase tickets by calling 972.RANGERS or at the Rangers Ballpark in Arlington ticket office beginning at 9:00 a.m. or anytime at There is a limit of 19 tickets per transaction.

Ticket prices for Monday's tiebreaker game are the same as a premier regular season game. The seating locations which are available:

Lower Box - $79

Corner Box - $63

AYCE - $58

Lower Reserved - $40

Outfield Plaza - $40

Lexus Club Terrace - $36

Upper Box - $27

Upper Reserved - $22

Grandstand Reserved - $13

Full season ticket holders and Plan A half season ticket holders that purchased full postseason strips have the tiebreaker game on their strips, listed as 2013 Tiebreaker. Suites are also available for rent to Monday's tiebreaker Game by calling 972- RANGERS, extension 3.

Monday's tiebreaker game is the first since 2009, when Minnesota defeated Detroit in a one-game playoff for the A.L. Central Division title. It will be the sixth tiebreaker in A.L. history and the first ever for the Rangers franchise. This will mark the fourth time in Rangers history that the club will play 163 games, the other years being 1979, 1983, and 1996 when the club played tie games. 

Rangers Ballpark in Arlington parking lots will open at 4:00 p.m. on Monday. The First and Third Base Ballpark gates will open at 5:00 p.m. with all other gates opening at 5:30 p.m.


Note: The National League played a best of three series to decide the pennant through 1962

Date                League           Teams and Result                             Winning Pitcher        Losing Pitcher

10/1/46            N.L.                 at STL 4, BKN 2                                  Pollett                          Branca

10/3/46            N.L.                 STL 8, at BKN 4                                  Dickson                       Hatten

10/4/48            A.L.                  CLE 8, at BOS 3                                 Bearden                      Galehouse

10/1/51            N.L.                 NYG 3, at BKN 1                                Hearn                          Branca

10/2/51            N.L.                 BKN 10, at NYG 0                              Labine                         Jones

10/3/51            N.L.                 at NYG 5, BKN 4                                Jansen                         Branca

9/28/59            N.L.                 LAD 3, at MIL 2                                   Sherry                        Wiley

9/29/59            N.L.                 at LAD 6, MIL 5                                   Williams                       Rush

10/1/62            N.L.                 at SF 8, LAD 0                                    Pierce                          Koufax

10/2/62            N.L.                 at LAD 8, SF 7                                    Williams                       Bolin

10/3/62            N.L.                 SF 6, at LAD 4                                    Larsen                         Roebuck

10/2/78            A.L.                  NYY 5, at BOS 4                                Guidry                         Torrez

10/6/80            N.L.                 HOU 7, at LAD 1                                Niekro                         Goltz

10/2/95            A.L.                  at SEA 9, ANA 1                                 Johnson                      Langston

9/28/98**         N.L.                 at CHI 5, SF 3                                     Trachsel                      Gardner

10/4/99**         N.L.                 NYM 5, at CIN 0                                 Leiter                           Parris

10/1/07**         N.L.                 at COL 9, SD 8                                   Ortiz                            Hoffman

10/3/08*           A.L.                  at CWS 1, MIN 0                                Danks                          Blackburn

10/6/09*           A.L.                  at MIN 6, DET 5                                  Keppel                         Rodney


*Division Tiebreaker               **Wild Card Tiebreaker

Texas Rangers