Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Hellickson presented his Gold Glove Award

ST. PETERSBURG -- Prior to Sunday's game, Jeremy Hellickson received his 2012 Rawlings American League Gold Glove Award.

Hellickson was named the co-winner of the award with Chicago's Jake Peavy, the first time two pitchers have tied. In doing so, Hellickson became the second pitcher in Major League history to win a Gold Glove and Rookie of the Year Award, joining Fernando Valenzuela, who was National League Rookie of the Year in 1981 and the NL Gold Glove winner in 1986.

Hellickson is the youngest pitcher to win a Gold Glove since Kansas City's Bret Saberhagen won the award at age 25 in 1989.

"I'm really honored to win it," Hellickson said. "I wasn't expecting it. But it was really awesome to win, I like winning it."

Bill Chastain is a reporter for
Read More: Tampa Bay Rays, Alex Cobb, Jeremy Hellickson