Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Gwynn has early lead in Padres Franchise Four voting

Tony Gwynn is the early leader in Padres voting for the Franchise Four campaign, which allows fans to elect the four most impactful players who best represent the history of each Major League franchise out of eight choices from its lineage.

Trevor Hoffman is second in voting for the Padres, followed by Dave Winfield and Randy Jones. Other Padres candidates include: Nate Colbert, Steve Garvey, Adrian Gonzalez and Jake Peavy. An additional write-in option is available to fans on the ballot. The eight nominees were selected based on the recommendations of a blue-ribbon panel, in consultation with the 30 Major League clubs. The panelists included John Thorn, MLB's official historian, and representatives from MLB's official statistician, the Elias Sports Bureau;; MLB Network; and the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Fans have cast 11.8 million votes in the Franchise Four voting, and you can cast your ballot here. Voting ends on May 8, and winners from all 30 clubs will be announced at the 2015 All-Star Game, which will take place on July 14 at Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati.

Austin Laymance is a reporter for
Read More: San Diego Padres