Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Umps review for collision-rule violation in Oakland

Tagout by Mariners' Zunino stands on Fuld's attempted inside-the-park homer

OAKLAND -- At the urging of A's manager Bob Melvin, crew chief Fieldin Culbreth called for a replay review for possible violation of the collision rule on a play at the plate during the fifth inning of Oakland's 3-2 extra-inning win over Seattle on Thursday night.

It was determined that the original ruling that Mariners catcher Mike Zunino was not breaching the rule would stand, since he did not block the path of Sam Fuld, who was attempting an inside-the-park home run with two outs, and Zunino had the ball in his glove when he closed in to apply the tag.

"I think it's going to be something that is just going to happen with plays at the plate," Zunino said. "I knew it was a good relay and I was in fair territory. I just tried to tag him once I got the ball. It's one of those that is going to be reviewed, and talking to the umpire, it's not a challenge, it's just under review no matter what."

Fuld's triple drove in Nick Punto, who picked up the A's first hit one batter earlier. The inning ended with the Mariners leading, 2-1.

The break in the game to review the play spanned 3 minutes and 34 seconds, in part because the phones at the Coliseum weren't working, forcing the umpires to review the play off the field.

Jane Lee is a reporter for Read her blog, Major Lee-ague, and follow her on Twitter @JaneMLB.
Read More: Oakland Athletics, Sam Fuld, Mike Zunino