Playing second base, Zobrist received a throw from shortstop Yunel Escobar, and the ball dropped to the field. The umpires ruled that Zobrist did not have control of the ball.
"The interpretation of the rule of what is actually a catch in transition has changed," Zobrist said.
Replays showed that Zobrist caught the ball, but when he went to transfer the ball to his throwing hand, it fell to the ground.
Maddon consulted with the umpires before asking for the replay. The umpires confirmed the original call. Zobrist said that second-base umpire Phil Cuzzi explained the call to him an inning later.
"If you don't catch the ball, pull it out with your bare hand, and throw it in the intended direction you are trying to throw it, it's no longer a catch," Zobrist said. "So if you don't pull it out with your bare hand -- even if you pulled it out with your bare hand and then dropped it -- it's still not a catch. ... It boggles my mind."
The call resulted in Zobrist being charged with an error, which was only the Rays' second error of the season.