Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

O's have MLB-best six Gold Glove Award finalists

Davis, Hardy, Jones, Machado, Markakis and Wieters among AL nominees

BALTIMORE -- The best defense in baseball was recognized on Friday afternoon, with six Orioles unveiled as Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists at their respective position, the most for any club.

First baseman Chris Davis, shortstop J.J. Hardy, center fielder Adam Jones, third baseman Manny Machado, right fielder Nick Markakis and catcher Matt Wieters were among the American League candidates, with winners set to be unveiled for both Leagues on Tuesday at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

Baltimore set a new record in 2013 with 119 errorless games, besting a Tampa Bay club that had its entire infield named as Gold Glove Award finalists on Friday.

Davis is up against Kansas City's Eric Hosmer and the Rays' James Loney in his first full season as Baltimore's first baseman. Machado is also up for the first time, and the 21-year-old -- who suffered a season-ending knee injury in late September -- was named a finalist along with Tampa Bay's Evan Longoria and Adrian Beltre of the Rangers at third base.

Hardy, who won the AL Gold Glove Award at shortstop in 2012, joins Alcides Escobar (Royals) and Yunel Escobar (Tampa Bay), while two-time winner Wieters was nominated along with Minnesota's Joe Mauer and Salvador Perez (Royals).

Jones, who is vying for his third Gold Glove Award, is up against Kansas City's Lorenzo Cain and Boston's Jacoby Ellsbury, and Markakis, who won in 2011, is battling Josh Reddick (Oakland) and Shane Victorino (Boston) for the honor.

Traditionally, the Gold Glove Awards have been decided by votes from managers and coaches, but 2013 marks the first time defensive stats will play a role. SABR announced a Defensive Index statistic derived from Defensive Runs Saved, Ultimate Zone Rating and Runs Effectively Defended, which was sent to managers and coaches as a statistical resource guide to go with the ballots.

The plan is to also have the SABR Defensive Index complement the voting by the managers and coaches. The SDI will account for 30 total votes -- or approximately 25 percent -- of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process, and will be added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

The complete list of finalists:


Mark Buehrle, Blue Jays
R.A. Dickey, Blue Jays
Doug Fister, Tigers

Joe Mauer, Twins
Salvador Perez, Royals
Matt Wieters, Orioles

First base
Chris Davis, Orioles
Eric Hosmer, Royals
James Loney, Rays

Second base
Robinson Cano, Yankees
Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox
Ben Zobrist, Rays

Third base
Adrian Beltre, Rangers
Evan Longoria, Rays
Manny Machado, Orioles

Alcides Escobar, Royals
Yunel Escobar, Rays
J.J. Hardy, Orioles

Left field
Yoenis Cespedes, A's
Andy Dirks, Tigers
Alex Gordon, Royals

Center field
Lorenzo Cain, Royals
Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox
Adam Jones, Orioles

Right field
Nick Markakis, Orioles
Shane Victorino, Red Sox
Josh Reddick, A's


Patrick Corbin, D-backs
Zack Greinke, Dodgers
Adam Wainwright, Cardinals

A.J. Ellis, Dodgers
Russell Martin, Pirates
Yadier Molina, Cardinals

First base
Paul Goldschmidt, D-backs
Adrian Gonzalez, Dodgers
Anthony Rizzo, Cubs

Second base
Darwin Barney, Cubs
Brandon Phillips, Reds
Mark Ellis, Dodgers

Third base
Nolan Arenado, Rockies
Juan Uribe, Dodgers
David Wright, Mets

Ian Desmond, Nationals
Andrelton Simmons, Braves
Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies

Left field
Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
Starling Marte, Pirates
Eric Young Jr., Mets

Center field
Carlos Gomez, Brewers
Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
Denard Span, Nationals

Right field
Jay Bruce, Reds
Jason Heyward, Braves
Gerardo Parra, D-backs

Brittany Ghiroli is a reporter for Read her blog, Britt's Bird Watch, and follow her on Twitter @britt_ghiroli.

Baltimore Orioles, Chris Davis, J.J. Hardy, Adam Jones, Manny Machado, Nick Markakis, Matt Wieters