Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Headley, Gregerson, Cabrera nominated for GIBBYs

SAN DIEGO -- Three Padres have been nominated for 2012 GIBBY Awards and, as you might expect, third baseman Chase Headley -- coming off a career season both offensively and defensively -- is one of them.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2012 GIBBYs trophies -- the ultimate honors of the sport's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

Headley, who led the National League in RBIs (115) and recently won his first Gold Glove Award, is a candidate for Breakout Hitter of the Year after hitting .286 with a career-high 31 home runs. He was the NL Player of the Month in August and September.

Reliever Luke Gregerson has been nominated for Setup Man of the Year. Gregerson was 2-0 with a 2.39 ERA and 24 holds in 77 appearances.

Shortstop Everth Cabrera is nominated for Play of the Year for a defensive gem he made in the hole against the D-backs, ranging far to his right into shallow left field and throwing out Justin Upton at first base from the grass.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, all from's Must C highlight reels.

In the Cut4 category, Crystal the Monkey -- famous for her parts in "The Hangover II" and "Animal Practice" -- is a nominee after delighting staff, coaches, players and fans during a visit to Petco Park.

In the past four years, you, the fans, have cast more than 40 million votes across the various GIBBYs categories, none of which is restricted to individual League affiliation.

You can vote as many times as you want until fan balloting closes on Sunday, Dec. 2, at 8:59 p.m. PT.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

San Diego Padres, Everth Cabrera, Luke Gregerson, Chase Headley