Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Padres extend 18 non-roster invitations to Major League Spring Training

Pitchers & catchers to report February 13; position players to report February

SAN DIEGO - The San Diego Padres today announced that they have extended Major League Spring Training invitations to 18 players. Executive Vice President/General Manager Josh Byrnes made the announcement.

The list of non-roster invitees includes eight right-handed pitchers, two catchers, five infielders and three outfielders. Three of the invitees, Blaine Boyer, Alberto Gonzalez and Xavier Nady, have Major League experience. Additionally, 13 of the 18 players were either drafted by the Padres or signed as non-drafted free agents by the club. The following signed as minor league free agents from other organizations this offseason: right-handed pitcher Blaine Boyer, right-handed pitcher Anthony Carter, infielder Alberto Gonzalez and infielder/outfielder Xavier Nady. In addition, outfielder Alex Dickerson, a native of Poway, Calif., was acquired via trade from the Pittsburgh Pirates.

Below is a complete list of all non-roster players who will attend 2014 Major League Spring Training:

Right-Handed Pitchers (8)                     Catchers (2)                                          Infielders (5)

Blaine Boyer                                         Cody Decker                                         Jonathan Galvez

Leonel Campos                                     Austin Hedges                                      Alberto Gonzalez

Anthony Carter    

Dennis O'Grady                                     Outfielders (3)                                     Cory Spangenberg

Adys Portillo                                         Alex Dickerson                                      Jace Peterson

Kevin Quackenbush                               Rico Noel                                              Xavier Nady

Joe Ross                                              Daniel Robertson                                 

Matt Wisler  

San Diego Padres