Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Black wins two challenges to aid victory

Two calls at first base, one in the ninth, overturned after review

SAN DIEGO -- Padres manager Bud Black was successful with two challenges, as two separate calls at first base were overturned in Sunday's 4-3 win over Arizona.

The first challenge occurred with with two outs and the bases empty in the eighth inning. Third baseman Alexi Amarista bobbled a grounder off the bat of Chris Owings, then rifled a throw to first. First-base umpire Bill Welke initially ruled that Owings beat Amarista's throw, prompting Black to exit the dugout and use a challenge.

View Full Game Coverage

After one minute and 59 seconds, the call was overturned and Owings was ruled out, ending the inning. The game remained tied at 3-3.

But Black wasn't done, and his encore would prove to be a key to the Padres' win.

Cameron Maybin led off the ninth inning with the game tied 3-3 and hit a slow grounder that second baseman Aaron Hill barehanded and threw to first. First-base umpire Bill Welke initially ruled Maybin out.

Black, who was awarded a second challenge after his first one was successful, again asked for a review of Welke's call, and the call was again overturned after 55 seconds.

Maybin later scored the game-winning run, as San Diego snapped a four-game losing streak.

"I didn't know [if I beat the throw]," Maybin said. "It was a close play. Before this whole replay thing, I've had it go so many different ways, so I didn't argue it. The replay worked in our favor and it turned out to be an important run."

Tim Powers is a contributor to

San Diego Padres, Alexi Amarista, Chris Owings