Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

BBWAA Philadelphia Chapter announces 2012 Phillies Award Winners

            Cole Hamels was the unanimous choice for the Steve Carlton Most Valuable Pitcher Award and Carlos Ruiz won the Mike Schmidt Most Valuable Player Award in voting by the Philadelphia chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, which announced today the winners of its annual Phillies franchise awards.

            Jimmy Rollins and Juan Pierre also were honored by the writers. Rollins won the Dallas Green Special Achievement Award. Pierre won the Tug McGraw True Pro Award.           

            Hamels is a three-time winner of the Carlton Award. He leads the Phillies in wins (15), ERA among starters (3.05), strikeouts (202) and shutouts (2).

            Ruiz got all but three votes for the Schmidt Award. Hamels finished second and Rollins was third. Ruiz, who made his first NL All-Star team this season, leads the Phillies with a .328 batting average to go with career-highs in homers (15) and RBIs (62).

            Rollins receives the Special Achievement Award for becoming the fourth player in team history to reach 2,000 career hits and the first shortstop in MLB history to have 2,000 hits, 400 stolen bases and 100 home runs, and also for surpassing Larry Bowa for most games played at shortstop (1,731) on the club’s all-time list.

            Pierre gets the True Pro Award given to the player who best exemplifies the Tugger's good-natured personality and for his professional cooperation with beat writers. Ryan Howard finished second in voting for the second straight year.

            The awards were instituted by the BBWAA Philadelphia chapter in 2004. They will be presented on the field before Wednesday night's game against the Washington Nationals.


Previous Winners


Mike Schmidt
Most Valuable Player

Steve Carlton
Most Valuable Pitcher

Dallas Green
Special Achievement

Tug McGraw
True Pro Award


Bobby Abreu

Ryan Madson

John Vukovich

Amaury Telemaco


Chase Utley&Pat Burrell

Billy Wagner

Mage McDonnell

Billy Wagner


Ryan Howard

Tom Gordon

Chris Coste

Mike Lieberthal


Jimmy Rollins

Cole Hamels

Larry Shenk

Aaron Rowand


Brad Lidge

Cole Hamels

Jamie Moyer

Greg Dobbs


Ryan Howard

J.A. Happ

Jamie Moyer

Brad Lidge


Ryan Howard

Roy Halladay

Roy Halladay

Shane Victorino


Shane Victorino

Cliff Lee

Charlie Manuel

Raul Ibanez



Read More: Philadelphia Phillies