Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Jimmy Rollins announced as 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Winner

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. a subsidiary of Jarden Corporation (NYSE: JAH), today unveiled the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners for both the American League and National League. Jimmy Rollins won his fourth Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

“We are once again pleased to celebrate defensive excellence and honor the best defensive players in baseball with the Rawlings Gold Glove Award,” said Mike Thompson, senior vice president of marketing for St. Louis-based Rawlings.  “This iconic and prestigious Award supports our long-standing mission as a provider of authentic, innovative and high-performing sporting goods, trusted by athletes of all levels worldwide.”

St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won his fifth consecutive Rawlings Gold Glove Award; the longest active streak.  New York Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira joins Molina as a 5-time honoree, and Texas Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre, Miami Marlins pitcher Mark Buehrle and Philadelphia Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins each won his fourth Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

For the first time in five years and for only the third time in the history of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award, two players tied for the honor: American League pitchers Jeremy Hellickson of the Tampa Bay Rays™ and Jake Peavy of the Chicago White Sox™.  In 1985, four American League outfielders, and in 2007, four National League outfielders shared the honor.

Both Hellickson and Peavy are first-time winners of the Award, along with first baseman Adam LaRoche of the Washington Nationals™, second baseman Darwin Barney of the Chicago Cubs™, third baseman Chase Headley of the San Diego Padres™, shortstop J.J. Hardy of the Baltimore Orioles™, center fielder Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates™ and right fielders Jason Heyward of the Atlanta Braves™ and Josh Reddick of the Oakland Athletics™.

The Orioles led all teams with three recipients: along with Hardy, catcher Matt Wieters won his second consecutive Award and center fielder Adam Jones picked up his second Rawlings Gold Glove Award to go along with his 2009 trophy.  The Yankees are the only other team with multiple winners; along with Teixeira, second baseman Robinson Cano added to his 2010 Rawlings Gold Glove Award with this season’s honor.

Voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™ fan vote began at the conclusion of the announcement show telecast at<>, allowing the general public to weigh in as to who is “The Finest in the Field®” in each League.  To determine the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners, fans can only select one player among the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each League.

The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners will be unveiled during the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony presented by Gold Sport Collectibles on Friday, November 9, 2012, at The Plaza Hotel in New York City.  In addition to the Award presentation to this year’s winners, Hank Aaron and Cal Ripken, Jr. will accept special recognition awards, and Johnny Bench will be the sixth inductee into the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Hall of Fame, joining Roberto Clemente, Jim Kaat, Willie Mays, Brooks Robinson and Ozzie Smith.  Noted baseball fan Jerry Seinfeld will perform an hour-long show to end the evening’s festivities.

Philadelphia Phillies