Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Phillies have proud Cy Young tradition

The annual awards, voted by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, have been announced for the 2012 season.

One of the major awards is the Cy Young Award for pitching excellence. The Phillies have had four pitchers win the prestigious award, including the first pitcher to win four.

The award is named in honor of Denton (Cy) Young, who pitched in the Majors for 22 seasons (1890-1911) with Cleveland (National League), St. Louis (NL) and Boston (American League & NL). A right-hander, Young won 20 or more games 16 times, including 14 years in a row, and won over 30 games five times. In 906 career games, he posted a 511-315 record and was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1937.

From 1956-66, there was only one Cy Young Award winner for the Major Leagues. Beginning in 1967, a winner was selected for each league. The Phillies' winners include:

Pitching for a last-place team, "Lefty" had one of the most dominating seasons in baseball history. He led the league with 27 wins, 1.98 ERA, 41 games started, 30 complete games, 346 innings, 257 hits and 310 strikeouts. Eight of his 27 wins were shutouts. From May 3 through August 17, he won a club-record 15 consecutive games. He set an MLB record with percentage of team's games won (45.8).

Cy Young voting: Carlton was a unanimous selection as the Cy Young Award winner with 120 points; Steve Blass (Pirates) was second with 25. He signed a $165,000 contract prior to the 1973 season, making him the highest-paid pitcher in MLB.

Lefty led the league with 23 wins. He completed 17 of 36 starts and fanned 198 in 283 innings. His 2.64 ERA ranked fourth in the NL. Carlton set a Veterans Stadium record for wins, 17 (only three losses). Included was a 16-game winning streak. He led the NL with 22 pickoffs.

Cy Young voting: Received 104 points; Tommy John (Dodgers) was a distant runner-up with 54.

In pitching the Phillies to their first World Series title, Lefty had another big season. He led the league in wins with 24, 304 innings and 286 strikeouts in winning his third Cy Young Award. He became baseball's all-time strikeout leader for a left-hander on July 6. During the postseason, he was 3-0, starting and winning the Series clincher.

Cy Young voting: Won the Award in easy fashion again, 118 points to 55 for Jerry Reuss (Dodgers).

Lefty became baseball's first four-time Cy Young Award winner. He again dominated the league, leading in games won (23), 19 complete games, six shutouts, 295 1/3 innings, 253 hits allowed and 286 strikeouts. He was baseball's lone 20-game winner. Carlton won more games than any other pitcher in NL history for his age (37) and became only the second player to win a major award 10 years apart. Willie Mays was MVP in 1954 and '65.

Cy Young voting: Won fourth Award with 112 points to 29 for Steve Rogers (Expos).

Led the league with 19 wins and a .760 winning percentage, a new Phillies record. His 2.37 ERA finished second in the NL. Won 13 of 14 decisions after the All-Star break, including seven in a row as the Phillies won the NL pennant. Was 1-1 in the NLCS and 0-0 in the World Series.

Cy Young voting: Second straight Cy Young winner for the Phillies, 103 points to 61 for Mario Soto (Reds).

The first Phillies closer to win the Award. His 40 saves were tops in the majors, a first for a Phillies reliever. Bedrosian set an MLB record with 13 consecutive saves, from May 25-June 30. He had a hand in 45 of the Phillies' 80 wins.

Cy Young voting: Won the Award in the closest balloting ever, with 57 points to 55 for Rick Sutcliffe (Cubs) and 54 for Orel Hershiser (Dodgers).

Finished with a 21-10 record and 2.44 ERA. His 21 wins were the most for a Phillies pitcher since 1982 (Carlton, 23-11) and most for a Phillies RHP since 1955 (Robin Roberts, 23-14). Led the Majors with 250 2/3 innings, nine complete games and four shutouts and walked only 30 batters. Tossed second perfect game in Phillies history, May 29, at Miami.

Cy Young voting: Unanimous winner with 224 points, the fifth pitcher to win the Award in each league.

Philadelphia Phillies