Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Five Phillies have taken home NL MVP Awards

The Baseball Writers' Association of America first began voting for the MVP Award in each league in 1931. Five Phillies players have won the MVP Award in the National League.

Hall of Fame outfielder Chuck Klein was the second winner of the award (1932). Twice he finished in second place -- '31 and '33, the year he won the NL Triple Crown.

Other Phillies who have finished second included Robin Roberts (1952), Johnny Callison ('64), Greg Luzinski ('75, '77), Lenny Dykstra ('93) and Ryan Howard (2008).

In 1952, Roberts was runner-up to Cubs outfielder Hank Sauer, with 211 points to Sauer's 266. All Robbie did that year was lead the NL with 28 wins (28-7 record), 37 starts, 30 complete games and 330 innings pitched. His ERA was 2.59 -- the lowest in his Phillies career. Sauer led the league in homers (37) and RBIs (121) while batting .270. Robbie was robbed.

Remember, the Cy Young Award for pitching excellence didn't begin until 1956.

Klein, 1932
Klein led the NL in games (154), runs (152), hits (226), home runs (38), slugging percentage (.646) and total bases (420). He also hit .348 with 50 doubles, 15 triples and 127 RBI. Klein was the first player in the post-1920 era to lead a league in homers and steals. He won the Triple Crown in '33 (.368-28-120). During first five years with Phillies, Klein averaged 131.6 runs, 46.4 doubles, 36 homers, 138.6 RBIs and .359 batting average per season.

Klein edged the Cubs right-hander Lon Warneke in 1932, 78-68 in points. Klein was inducted posthumously into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1980. He was added to the Phillies Wall of Fame the same summer.

Jim Konstanty, 1950
Konstanty was the closer for the 1950 Whiz Kids. He led the NL in games (74), games finished (62) and saves (22). (Note: saves were not an official stat at that time). Konstanty posted a 16-7 record and 2.66 ERA in 152 innings. His 16 wns are the most for a Phillies reliever. Konstanty also set a club record for a reliever for innings pitched in a game, with 10, in an 8-7, 19-inning win over Cincinnati on Sept. 15.

Konstanty was the first relief pitcher to win the award, 286-158 votes over Cardinals outfielder Stan Musial.

Mike Schmidt, 1980
Schmidt led the Major Leagues in home runs (48) while leading the NL in RBIs (121), slugging percentage (.624) and total bases (342). His home run total was a new Phillies record, surpassing his 45 from 1979. Schmidt hit .286, a career high to that point, and he slugged the game-winning homer in the NL East clincher in Montreal. Schmidt led all players in All-Star voting and won his fifth straight Gold Glove.

Getting all 24 first-place votes, Schmidt easily won in the voting over Expos catcher Gary Carter, 336-193. Schmidt was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1995 and the Phillies Wall of Fame in '90.

Schmidt, 1981
Schmidt was the third NL player to win back-to-back MVP Awards, joining Ernie Banks (1958-59) and Joe Morgan ('75-76). Schmidt led the league in runs (78), home runs (31), RBIs (91), walks (73), slugging percentage (.644) and on-base percentage (.435) in 102 games. He topped .300 for the first time with a .316 mark that ranked fourth best in the NL. Schmidt won his sixth Gold Glove Award, an NL record for a third baseman.

Schmidt collected 321 points in winning over Expos outfielder Andre Dawson, who had 215.

Schmidt, 1986
Schmidt joined Musial (1943, '46, '48) and Roy Campanella ('51, '53, '55) as the only three-time MVP Award winners in NL history. Schmidt led the NL in homers (37) for the eighth time, breaking Ralph Kiner's record. He also led in RBIs (119) and slugging percentage (.547); was second in walks (89) and total bases (302); and won his 10th Gold Glove Award.

In the closest voting of Schmidt's three NL MVP Awards, his 287 points were 56 more than Astros first baseman Glen Davis' 231.

Howard, 2006
Howard won the NL MVP Award in his first full big league season. He led the Majors in home runs (58), RBIs (149) and total bases (383) while hitting .313. He also scored 104 runs and walked 108 times. Howard's home run total matched Jimmie Foxx (A's) for the most by a Philadelphia player and broke Schmidt's club record (48). Howard joined Cal Ripken Jr. (1982-83) as the only players to win the Rookie of the Year and MVP Awards in back-to-back seasons.

It was a battle of first basemen in the voting. Howard garnered 388 points to the Cardinals' Albert Pujols' 347.

Jimmy Rollins, 2007
Rollins had a banner season in which he won a Gold Glove Award, Silver Slugger Award and capped it with the NL MVP Award. He was the first Major Leaguer to have 200 hits, 15 triples, 25 homers and 25 stolen bases in the same season. Rollins led the NL in at-bats (MLB record 716), runs (139), triples (20) and multihit games (63). He also hit .296 with 212 hits, 28 doubles, 30 homers, 94 RBIs, 41 steals and 88 extra-base hits. His runs, extra-base hits and total bases (380) set NL records for a shortstop.

Rollins became the seventh NL shortstop to win the MVP Award in one of the closest races ever. Rollins pulled in 353 points to defeat Rockies outfielder Matt Holliday, who had 336.

Philadelphia Phillies, Ryan Howard, Chuck Klein, Jim Konstanty, Jimmy Rollins, Mike Schmidt