Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

BBWAA Philadelphia Chapter Announces 2013 Phillies Award Winners

Domonic Brown won the Mike Schmidt Award for Most Valuable Player and Cliff Lee earned the Steve Carlton Award for Most Valuable Pitcher in voting by the Philadelphia chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America, which announced today the winners of its annual Phillies franchise awards.

Former manager Charlie Manuel and Kevin Frandsen also were honored by the writers. Manuel won the Dallas Green Award for Special Achievement. Frandsen won the Tug McGraw Award for True Professionalism. 

Brown received 78 percent of votes for the Schmidt Award. He was an NL All-Star in his first full season as a regular, and leads the Phillies in homers (27) and RBIs (81) despite missing 22 games in the second half. Chase Utley finished second in voting.

Lee was nearly a unanimous choice to win his second Carlton Award. He received 92 percent of votes. Lee leads the Phillies in wins (14), ERA among starters (2.95) and strikeouts (201).

Manuel received 83 percent of votes for the Special Achievement Award, which he earned for becoming the 58th manager to win 1,000 games. Manuel previously won the Green Award in 2011 for surpassing Gene Mauch for most wins as manager in franchise history.

Frandsen edged former Phillie Michael Young for the True Pro Award given to the player who best exemplifies McGraw's good-natured personality and for his professional cooperation with beat writers. Three other players and Manuel also received votes.

The awards were instituted by the BBWAA Philadelphia chapter in 2004. They will be presented on the field before Saturday night's game against the New York Mets.


Previous Winners


Mike Schmidt
Most Valuable Player

Steve Carlton
Most Valuable Pitcher

Dallas Green
Special Achievement

Tug McGraw
True Pro Award


Bobby Abreu

Ryan Madson

John Vukovich

Amaury Telemaco


Chase Utley/Pat Burrell

Billy Wagner

Mage McDonnell

Billy Wagner


Ryan Howard

Tom Gordon

Chris Coste

Mike Lieberthal


Jimmy Rollins

Cole Hamels

Larry Shenk

Aaron Rowand


Brad Lidge

Cole Hamels

Jamie Moyer

Greg Dobbs


Ryan Howard

J.A. Happ

Jamie Moyer

Brad Lidge


Ryan Howard

Roy Halladay

Roy Halladay

Shane Victorino


Shane Victorino

Cliff Lee

Charlie Manuel

Raul Ibanez


Carlos Ruiz

Cole Hamels

Jimmy Rollins

Juan Pierre

Philadelphia Phillies