Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

A look back at the Phils' BBWAA award winners

During the month of November, the Baseball Writers' Association of America announces its annual award winners -- rookies, managers, MVPs and Cy Youngs.

One of the great mysteries of the voting is the fact Charlie Manuel never won the manager's award, despite five straight National League East titles, two NL pennants and one World Series championship.

Here's a look at the Phillies' winners through the years:

NL Rookie of the Year Award
1957 -- Jack Sanford, P
1964 -- Richie Allen, 3B
1997 -- Scott Rolen, 3B
2005 -- Ryan Howard, 1B

NL Manager of the Year Award
2001 -- Larry Bowa

NL Most Valuable Player Award
1932 -- Chuck Klein, OF
1950 -- Jim Konstanty, P
1980 -- Mike Schmidt, 3B
1981 -- Schmidt
1986 -- Schmidt
2006 -- Howard, 1B
2007 -- Jimmy Rollins, SS

NL Cy Young Award
1972 -- Steve Carlton
1977 -- Carlton
1980 -- Carlton
1982 -- Carlton
1983 -- John Denny
1987 -- Steve Bedrosian
2010 -- Roy Halladay

Larry Shenk is the vice president of alumni relations for the Phillies.

Philadelphia Phillies