Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Rollins, Young, Weiner to be honored at BAT dinner

Group will be recognized alongside Commissioner Selig at the Tuesday event

Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins, free agent Michael Young and former MLB Players Association executive director Michael Weiner will be honored at the 2014 "Going to Bat for B.A.T.," recognizing their individual efforts in supporting the Baseball Assistance Team charitable organization and the general community.

The organization's 25th annual dinner is scheduled for Tuesday at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel. Tickets are still available at or by phone at 212-931-7822.

Weiner, who passed away in November after a 15-month battle against an inoperable brain tumor, will be honored posthumously with the Baseball Assistance Team Lifetime Achievement Award for his years of support of the organization. During his time with the MLBPA, Weiner garnered support for B.A.T. from players and the MLBPA. His wife, Diane Margolin, will accept the award.

Rollins will receive the Big B.A.T./Frank Slocum Award for his financial support and generosity to the community, specifically the B.A.T. organization. Young will receive the Bart Giamatti Award, presented annually to the person who best exemplifies the compassion of the late Commissioner by generously giving back to the community.

Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig was previously announced as the recipient of the inaugural "Commissioner Bud Selig Leadership Award" to be presented at the dinner.

The Yankees and Dodgers will each receive the 2013 Bobby Murcer Award, named after the former B.A.T. chairman who introduced the B.A.T. Spring Training Fundraising tour. The award is given to a team in each league whose players commit the most money to B.A.T. This is the Yankees' fifth straight award and the Dodgers' third in the last four years.

Among the current and former Major Leaguers and Hall of Famers scheduled to attend the dinner are Roberto Alomar, Orlando Cepeda, Rollie Fingers, Tommy Lasorda, Jim Palmer, Frank Robinson, Dave Winfield, Adam Jones, Jason Marquis, Edgardo Alfonzo, Jim Bouton, MLBPA executive director Tony Clark, John Franco, Tito Francona, B.A.T. dinner chairman Steve Garvey, Bud Harrelson, Keith Hernandez, Tommy John, Howard Johnson, Cleon Jones, Lee Mazzilli, Sam McDowell, Willie Randolph, Eddie Robinson, Lee Smith, Rusty Staub, Bob Watson, Roy White and Dmitri Young.

MLB Network's Harold Reynolds and Matt Vasgersian will co-emcee the dinner, and MLB Network's Eric Byrnes, Sean Casey, Al Leiter and Joe Magrane are also expected to attend. Five-time All-Star Jack Morris, Marlon Anderson and C.J. Nitkowski will be in attendance to represent

Adam Berry is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @adamdberry.

Philadelphia Phillies, Jimmy Rollins, Michael Young