Phillies instructional league roster, schedule

September 18th, 2018

At the end of each season, Major League clubs hold instructional league play, commonly known as instructs, an extended mini-camp that allows Minor Leaguers -- particularly those just starting their pro careers at the lower levels of their team's system -- to get some work in before calling it a year. Players work on specific parts of their game and get offseason workout plans while often playing a handful of games against nearby teams to provide low-key competition to put what they are working on into practice.

Here's a look at the Phillies roster, with the players' rank in the team's Top 30 Prospect list in parentheses:

Instructional league rosters

PITCHERS: Blake Bennett, RHP; Ben Brown, RHP; Starlyn Castillo, RHP; Jose Conopoima, RHP; Gabriel Cotto, LHP; Jonas De La Cruz, RHP; Maikel Garrido, LHP; Juan Geraldo, RHP; Kyle Glogoski, RHP; Michael Gomez, RHP; Rafi Gonell, RHP; Cristian Hernandez, RHP; Jake Kinney, RHP; Hsin-Chieh Lin, RHP; Jordi Martinez, LHP; Robinson Martinez, RHP; Tyler McKay, RHP; Jhordany Mezquita, LHP (No. 26); , LHP; Efrain Morales, RHP; Francisco Morales, RHP (No. 13); Luis Pacheco, RHP; Nicoly Pina, RHP; Dominic Pipkin, RHP (No. 24); Mark Potter, RHP; Alfonso Puello, RHP; Brandon Ramey, RHP; Dalvin Rosario, RHP; Austin Ross, RHP; Yeison Sanchez, RHP; Victor Santos, RHP; Manuel Silva, LHP; Jaylen Smith, LHP; Manuel Urias, RHP; Victor Vargas, RHP

CATCHERS: Juan Aparicio, Arturo De Freitas, Mitchell Edwards, Freddy Francisco, Abrahan Gutierrez, Rafael Marchan, Logan O'Hoppe, Cesar Rodriguez

INFIELDERS: Alec Bohm (No. 2), Guarner, , Juan Herrera, Matt Kroon, Seth Lancaster, Curtis Mead, Jose Mercado, Luke Miller, Luis Rojas, Logan Simmons, Cole Stobbe, Madison Stokes, Nicolas Torres, Christian Valerio, Rixon Wingrove

OUTFIELDERS: Ben Akilinski, Jose Cedeno, Carlos De La Cruz, Julio Francisco, , Simon Muzziotti (No. 30), Jhailyn Ortiz (No. 7), Ben Pelletier, Johan Rojas, Yerwin Trejo, Matt Vierling

SCHEDULE

Mon., Sept. 24 - vs. Blue Jays

Tues. Sept. 25 - at Orioles

Wed. Sept. 26 - at Pirates

Thurs. Sept. 27 - Camp day

Fri. Sept. 28 - vs. Pirates

Sat. Sept. 29 - Camp day

Mon. Oct. 1 - at Pirates

Tues. Oct. 2 - vs. Orioles

Wed. Oct. 3 - Camp day

Thurs. Oct. 4 - at Orioles

Fri. Oct. 5 - vs. Braves

Sat. Oct. 6 - vs. Orioles

Mon. Oct. 8 - at Braves

Tues. Oct. 9 - vs. Yankees

Wed. Oct. 10 - Camp day

Thurs. Oct. 11 - at Yankees

Fri. - Oct. 12 - vs. Yankees

 

Read more: Philadelphia Phillies