Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

McCutchen runs down Wilson defensive award

Andrew McCutchen has again proven to be a man of his words.

In an MLB promotional video leading up to the 2012 season, McCutchen had pledged to "take away center field." At the same time, needling a friend, he had also warned Matt Kemp that he would take away the Gold Glove he'd received in 2011.

The Pirates center fielder had already made good on that threat, picking up his first Gold Glove last week for defensive excellence. And McCutchen continued to add to his trophy case on Sunday night, when he was recognized as the Pirates' Defensive Player of the Year as part of the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards.

The inaugural Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards were announced on MLB Network, the forum for postseason awards. The official BBWAA Awards, from Rookies of the Year to MVPs, will be revealed on the Network next week beginning on Monday.

More than anything, McCutchen's defensive awards are a reflection of his tremendous speed-fueled range. While he has only an average arm -- he had only three assists in a National League-high 1,364 innings -- his remarkable ability to run down drives from left- to right-center cannot be ignored.

As part of the Wilson program, the Braves' Michael Bourn and the Angels' Mike Trout were named Defensive Players of the Year in the NL and American League, respectively, and Atlanta was recognized as the Majors' top defensive team.

Awards season will climax with this year's GIBBY Awards, in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels. Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Pittsburgh Pirates, Andrew McCutchen