Bob Feller Act of Valor Award nominees for 2016 announced

The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation announced its Major League Baseball (MLB) nominees for the 2016 Bob Feller Act of Valor Award today.

June 27th, 2016

The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation announced its Major League Baseball (MLB) nominees for the 2016 Bob Feller Act of Valor Award today.

The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award, through the unique connection of baseball and the United States Navy, honors a current Major League Baseball player, a United States Navy Chief Petty Officer, and a Hall of Fame member who embody the same principles and high achievement of Bob Feller. Beginning Friday, June 24, in Texas and during the next couple of months, each team, along with foundation and military representatives, will honor the nominated players during a pre-game ceremony. 

The 2016 MLB Player Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Nominees are:

Arizona Diamondbacks: Brad Ziegler

Baltimore Orioles: Darren O'Day

Boston Red Sox: Dustin Pedroia

Chicago White Sox: David Robertson

Cleveland Indians: Corey Kluber

Houston Astros: Scott Feldman

Kansas City Royals: Wade Davis

Los Angeles Dodgers: Ron Fairly

Miami Marlins: Mike Dunn and Jeff Conine

Milwaukee Brewers: Jimmy Nelson

Minnesota Twins: Brian Dozier

Oakland Athletics: Sean Doolittle

San Francisco Giants: Jake Peavy

Tampa Bay Rays: Matt Moore

Texas Rangers: Bobby Jones

While many know Bob Feller as one of the greatest pitchers to ever grace the baseball diamond, few remember that he also served our country when he made the selfless decision to enlist just days after the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941. The Foundation uses Bob Feller's story to educate the youth of today on the lessons of citizenship, service, and sacrifice.

Since 2015, the Foundation also honors a Staff Noncommissioned Officer of the United States Marine Corps (USMC) with the Jerry Coleman Award. In addition, two Navy Peer-to-Peer Mentoring Awards are presented, one for an Afloat Command and one for a Shore Command.

"The legacies of Bob Feller, Jerry Coleman and the greatest generation are embodied throughout these players and their respective clubs, honoring those who served. And for this we are forever grateful," said Peter Fertig, CEO, of the Foundation.

Previous award winners include Justin Verlander, Nick Swisher, Jonathan Lucroy, Yogi Berra, Tommy Lasorda, George Brett, U.S. Navy Senior Chief Petty Officer Garth Sinclair, Senior Chief Petty Officer Carl Thompson, Chief Petty Officer Genell Cody, Staff Sergeant Rene Segura, USS Carl Vinson (CVN 70), and HOPPER Information Services Center. Winners will be honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C on Thursday, November 17th at the United States Navy Memorial.

Peter Fertig created The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation, a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization, with the support of the US Navy, the USS Alabama Battleship Memorial, The Cleveland Indians, the Baseball Hall of Fame, the Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association, and the gracious consent of Mrs. Anne Feller. The Jerry Coleman Award was added last year at the request of the Secretary of the Navy, The Honorable Ray Mabus, in support of the United States Marine Corps, the San Diego Padres and the Coleman Family.