Dodgers' Friedman named MLB's 2020 Executive of the Year

President, baseball operations of 2020 World Series champions honored by peers

November 17th, 2020

Los Angeles Dodgers President of Baseball Operations Andrew Friedman, whose Club posted the best 2020 regular season record before earning its first World Series Championship since 1988, has been named the recipient of Major League Baseball’s 2020 Executive of the Year Award, MLB announced today. The official Award bestowed by MLB resulted from voting among the 30 Clubs, each of which cast a vote prior to the start of the Postseason. The runner-up for the 2020 honor was Rick Hahn of the Chicago White Sox, while last year’s winner, Erik Neander of the Tampa Bay Rays, finished third.

The Dodgers finished the 2020 regular season with MLB’s best record at 43-17 (.717) en route to their eighth consecutive National League West title – a feat accomplished previously only by the Atlanta Braves (14, 1991-2005) and the New York Yankees (9, 1998-2006). This was the seventh time in Dodger history that the Club assembled the best record in the Majors. The Dodgers led the Majors by hitting 118 home runs, averaging a record 1.97 homers per game. Los Angeles pitching paced the Majors in team ERA (3.02), opponents’ batting average (.213) and WHIP (1.06), and allowed just 1.10 home runs per nine innings. The Dodgers lost just one series all year – at home vs. Colorado from September 4th-6th – and finished the season with a 15-1-4 series record, including six series sweeps. The Dodgers have gone 528-343 (.606) in Friedman’s six seasons in LA.

Before the start of 2020 Spring Training, the Dodgers acquired 2018 American League Most Valuable Player Mookie Betts in a trade with the Boston Red Sox. Betts joined a roster that included career Dodger All-Stars Clayton Kershaw, Walker Buehler, Kenley Jansen, Cody Bellinger, Joc Pederson and 2020 Willie Mays World Series MVP Corey Seager, as well as players who developed into All-Stars after joining LA, Max Muncy and Justin Turner. The Dodgers leaned on an entirely homegrown starting rotation – including Kershaw, Buehler, Julio Urías, Tony Gonsolin and Dustin May – on the way to their seventh World Championship in franchise history. First round selections in the Draft under Friedman included key contributors like Buehler and catcher Will Smith, and a Friedman free agent acquisition, AJ Pollock, hit 16 home runs and slugged .566 in his second season as a Dodger. 

MLB began its official Executive of the Year Award at the conclusion of the 2018 season, with Billy Beane of the Oakland Athletics earning the inaugural honors and the Rays’ Neander being recognized in 2019.