Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Nadel named Frick Award finalist fourth straight year

ARLINGTON -- Rangers radio broadcaster Eric Nadel, who just finished his 35th season with the organization, was once again selected as a finalist for the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

This is the fourth straight year Nadel is a finalist for baseball's most prestigious broadcasting award. The other nine finalists for the 2014 Frick Award are: Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Ken Harrelson, Bill King, Duane Kuiper, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete van Wieren. The winner of the 2014 Frick Award will be announced on Dec. 11 at the Baseball Winter Meetings and will be honored during the July 26 Awards Presentation as part of Hall of Fame Weekend 2014 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

The 10 finalists for the 2014 Frick Award include three fan selections produced from online balloting at the Hall of Fame's Facebook site in September; 20,968 votes were cast. Doucet, King and Kuiper emerged as the top fan selections. The other seven candidates were chosen by a Hall of Fame research committee. All broadcasters on the ballot, with the exception of King and van Wieren, are active.

Nadel has spent the past 19 years as the lead voice on the Rangers' radio broadcast and his 35 years of continuous service to the organization is the second longest in the American League. He is a member of the Rangers Hall of Fame and has been asked to throw out the ceremonial first pitch on four occasions, including Game 1 of the 2011 American League Championship Series. He is a seven-time recipient of the Texas Sportscaster of the Year Award.

Final voting for the 2014 Frick Award will be conducted by a 20-member electorate, comprised of the 16 living Frick Award recipients and five broadcast historians/columnists. The past Frick honorees are: Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Tim McCarver, Denny Matthews, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff. The historians/columnists are: Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network, or a combination of the two. More than 160 broadcasters were eligible for consideration for the award based on these qualifications for 2014.

Texas Rangers