Umpire's ruling confirmed on Andrus' attempt to control ball on double-play chance
BOSTON -- Rangers manager Ron Washington suffered his first replay challenge loss in the first inning of Monday's game with the Red Sox.
It proved to be insignificant. The Red Sox had Daniel Nava at first with one out when David Ortiz hit a double-play grounder at second baseman Donnie Murphy. On the throw to second, shortstop Elvis Andrus caught the ball coming across the bag but then fumbled it as he went to make the relay throw.
Second base umpire Jordan Baker called Nava safe and Washington asked for a replay. The umpire's decision was confirmed and the ruling was Andrus never had control of the ball. Rangers pitcher Tanner Scheppers then got Mike Napoli to hit into an inning-ending double play, rendering the replay insignificant.
"Before this review stuff, that was an out," Washington said. "He caught the ball. Normally that's an out."