Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Eric Nadel honored in pre-game ceremony on Saturday

Arlington, Texas-Longtime Texas Rangers broadcaster Eric Nadel, the 38th recipient of baseball's highest broadcasting honor, the Ford C. Frick Award, was honored in a pre-game ceremony prior to Saturday's game with the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim at Globe Life Park in Arlington.

Nadel, who will be honored during the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum's Awards Ceremony on Saturday, July 26 at Doubleday Field in Cooperstown, New York, received several tributes this evening:

--Saturday, July 12 has been proclaimed as Eric Nadel Day in the City of Arlington. Nadel received a framed proclamation from the City of Arlington.

--Nadel was presented with the original copy of the letter of recommendation written by the 43rd President of the United States George W. Bush. The letter was sent all members of the Frick Award selection committee last fall.

--Nadel was presented with a Crystal Microphone from the Texas Rangers organization. Making the presentation was the radio play-by-play announcers Chuck Cooperstein of the Dallas Mavericks, Brad Sham of the Dallas Cowboys, and Ralph Strangis of the Dallas Stars. Sham, who shared the Rangers radio booth with Nadel from 1995-97, also made remarks.

In addition, a series a video tributes were played during the ceremony. These were in the order they were played:

Jeff Idelson, President of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

Jaime Jarrin, Spanish radio voice of the Los Angeles Dodgers and the 1998 Frick Award recipient

Denny Matthews, radio voice of the Kansas City Royals and the 2007 Frick Award recipient

Dave Van Horne, radio voice of the Miami Marlins and the 2011 Frick Award recipient

Milo Hamilton, retired radio voice of the Houston Astros and the 1992 Frick Award recipient

Marty Brennaman, radio voice of the Cincinnati Reds and the 2000 Frick Award recipient

Jon Miller, former radio voice of the Texas Rangers, current television and radio voice of the San Francisco Giants, and the 2010 Frick Award recipient

Bob Uecker, radio voice of the Milwaukee Brewers and the 2003 Frick Award recipient

Marv Albert, legendary basketball and football announcer and Nadel's idol

Vin Scully, television and radio voice of the Los Angeles Dodgers and the 1982 Frick Award recipient

Rangers fans also signed large congratulations cards for Nadel that were presented during the ceremony.

The first 15,000 fans, 14 years of age and older, received a Nitto Tire USA, Inc. Eric Nadel Bobblehead this evening.  

Texas Rangers