Today's Game Era ballot vote coming Sunday

16-member committee to decide on Selig, Steinbrenner among 10 hopefuls

October 3rd, 2016

The Today's Game Era ballot for induction to the National Baseball Hall of Fame will be voted upon this Sunday at the Winter Meetings in National Harbor, Md. Five former Major League players, three executives and two managers will be considered, and the results of the voting will be announced on MLB Network's "MLB Tonight" and streamed live on at 6 p.m. ET.

The players named on the ballot are Harold Baines, Albert Belle, Will Clark, Orel Hershiser and Mark McGwire. The three executives are John Schuerholz, Allan H. "Bud" Selig and George M. Steinbrenner. The two former managers are Davey Johnson and Lou Piniella.

Any candidate receiving 75 percent or more of the votes cast by the 16-member Today's Game Era Committee will be inducted into Cooperstown on July 30, along with those elected by the Baseball Writers' Association of America on Jan. 18, which will be announced on MLB Network.

The Today's Game Era Committee is one of four Era Committees identified by the Hall of Fame last July, when the board of directors announced changes to the Era Committee system. The Era Committee system is an avenue for managers, executives and umpires with careers spanning 10 or more years, as well as players who have been retired for more than 15 years, to gain induction.

The 16-member committee charged with the review of the Today's Game Era ballot includes Hall of Fame members Roberto Alomar, Bobby Cox, Andre Dawson, Dennis Eckersley, Pat Gillick, Ozzie Smith, Don Sutton and Frank Thomas; Major League executives Paul Beeston (Blue Jays), Bill DeWitt (Cardinals), David Glass (Royals), Andy MacPhail (Phillies) and Kevin Towers (Reds); and veteran media members/historians Bill Center, Steve Hirdt and Tim Kurkjian.

The Today's Era Ballot consists of individuals whose major career contributions took place from 1988 to the present, as selected by a BBWAA-appointed Historical Overview Committee.

• Baines played for the White Sox, Orioles, A's, Rangers and Indians over a 22-year Major League career. He hit .289/.356/.465 with 384 home runs and 1,628 RBIs. Baines was a six-time All-Star.

• Belle was a five-time All-Star during a 12-year big league career spent with the Indians, Orioles and White Sox. He led the American League in home runs with 50 in 1995, helping Cleveland reach the World Series. Belle led the AL in RBIs three times, in 1993, '95 and '96. He also led the league in total bases in '94, '95 and '98.

• Clark was an All-Star six times from 1988-94, leading the National League in RBIs and walks in '88 while with the Giants. Clark helped lead San Francisco to the '89 NL pennant, earning NL Championship Series Most Valuable Player honors by hitting .650 with three home runs and eight RBIs against the Cubs. That included a game-winning single in the pennant-clinching Game 5 at Candlestick Park. After eight seasons with the Giants, Clark played for the Rangers, Orioles and Cardinals before retiring in 2000.

• Hershiser enjoyed an 18-year Major League career in which he compiled 204 victories and won the 1988 NL Cy Young Award. The right-hander finished with a 3.48 ERA in a career spent with the Dodgers, Indians, Mets and Giants. He holds the Major League record for consecutive scoreless innings pitched -- 59 from Aug. 30 to Sept. 28, 1988, for Los Angeles.

• McGwire set the single-season home run record by belting 70 in 1998 for the Cardinals (later eclipsed by Barry Bonds' 73 in 2001). McGwire holds the all-time rookie homer mark, hitting 49 for the A's in a 1987 AL Rookie of the Year Award campaign. Overall, McGwire played 16 big league seasons with Oakland and St. Louis. He was a 12-time All-Star and finished with 583 home runs.

• Schuerholz laid the foundation for the 1985 Kansas City Royals World Series championship club, serving as farm director and later general manager. He then joined the Atlanta Braves and helped build a perennial playoff club that won the World Series in 1995. He is the only general manager to have won a World Series championship in both the American and National Leagues.

• Selig served as Major League Baseball's ninth Commissioner, being named acting Commissioner in 1992 and Commissioner in '98. He oversaw two rounds of expansion, the establishment of the Wild Card positions in each league, Interleague Play and the World Baseball Classic.

• Steinbrenner bought the New York Yankees in 1973, and on his watch the club won seven World Series titles until his death in 2010. In his 37 years as team owner, Steinbrenner's Yankees compiled a .565 winning percentage and won 11 AL pennants.

• Johnson managed for 17 seasons in the Majors with the Dodgers, Mets, Reds, Orioles and Nationals. He won 1,372 games and led New York to a World Series title in 1986. He was named AL Manager of the Year in 1997 and NL Manager of the Year in 2012.

• Piniella managed for 23 seasons in the Majors, for the Yankees, Reds, Mariners, Rays and Cubs. He won 1,835 games, 14th all-time. Piniella's Reds won the 1990 World Series, and his 2001 Mariners set a Major League record with 116 regular-season wins. Overall, he led his clubs to the postseason seven times. He was named the Manager of the Year Award winner for his league three times, in 1995, 2001 and '08.