Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Bruce earns award for skills in right field

CINCINNATI -- Reds right fielder Jay Bruce was recognized for his defensive skills on Thursday, when he was named as the Reds' winner of the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award.

The prize from the sporting goods company names the best defensive player on each Major League club. In addition to picking team-specific honorees, Wilson selected the top defensive player in the National League (Gerardo Parra ) and American League (Dustin Pedroia ), as well as each league's best defensive teams (D-backs, Orioles/Royals tie).

Winners were determined by using a formula that balances scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics.

This is the second year of the Wilson Award. Cincinnati's winner last year was second baseman Brandon Phillips.

Bruce was second among National League right fielders with a .991 fielding percentage while making three errors. His 13 assists were second in the league at the position.

In advanced statistics, Bruce was second among qualified NL right fielders with a 10.2 ultimate zone rating while Parra led the category at 26.6. He had 18 defensive runs saved.

Bruce was a NL Gold Glove Award finalist for the third straight year, but he lost out to winner Parra.

The GIBBY trophy for Defensive Player of the Year will be awarded as part of the 2013 Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards, which are based on voting by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni and the Society for American Baseball Research, as well as fan balloting on

Through Sunday, Dec. 1, fans will be able to cast their ballots at for the year's top defensive star, with no individual league affiliation.

Mark Sheldon is a reporter for Read his blog, Mark My Word, and follow him on Twitter @m_sheldon.

Cincinnati Reds, Jay Bruce