Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Chapman, Latos to DL as Reds set roster

The Reds made a series of transactions on Sunday, finalizing their 25-man roster for Monday 4:10 p.m. ET Opening Day matchup against the Cardinals at Great American Ball Park.

Left-handers Aroldis Chapman and Sean Marshall, right-hander Mat Latos and catcher Devin Mesoraco were placed on the 15-day disabled list, retroactive to March 21, while righty Jonathan Broxton and infielder-outfielder Skip Schumaker were placed on the 15-day DL, retroactive to March 22. Infielder Jack Hannahan and righty Brett Marshall were added to the 60-day DL.

The Reds also cleared roster space by designating righty Pedro Beato for assignment and reassigning outfielder Jason Bourgeois, righty Jumbo Diaz, lefty Jeff Francis, catcher Corky Miller and infielder-outfielder Kristopher Negron to Triple-A Louisville. On Saturday, the club had released infielder Chris Nelson.

Those moves allowed Cincinnati to recall catcher Tucker Barnhart and righty Curtis Partch and select the contracts of righty Trevor Bell, outfielder Roger Bernadina and infielder Ramon Santiago. Bell, Bernadina and Santiago all made the team as non-roster invitees to Spring Training and had to be added to the 40-man roster. With Mesoraco sidelined, Barnhart is expected to be the primary backup catcher behind Brayan Pena.

The Reds will open the season carrying 12 pitchers and 13 position players, with the roster breakdown as follows:

Pitchers: Homer Bailey, Bell, Nick Christiani, Tony Cingrani, Johnny Cueto, J.J. Hoover, Mike Leake, Sam LeCure, Manny Parra, Partch, Alfredo Simon, Logan Ondrusek.

Catchers: Barnhart, Pena.

Infielders: Zack Cozart, Todd Frazier, Brandon Phillips, Neftali Soto, Joey Votto, Ramon Santiago.

Outfielders: Bernadina, Jay Bruce, Billy Hamilton, Chris Heisey, Ryan Ludwick.

Andrew Simon is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @AndrewSimonMLB.

Cincinnati Reds, Jonathan Broxton, Aroldis Chapman, Mat Latos, Sean Marshall, Skip Schumaker