Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Fans can send Reds back to All-Star Game

Votto, Phillips were voted in last year; Hamilton intriguing name on 2014 ballot

The Reds were represented on the National League All-Star team last year with two starters in first baseman Joey Votto and second baseman Brandon Phillips. Can Cincinnati have even more representation in 2014? It's up to the fans to decide.

Major League Baseball released the All-Star ballots on Friday, thus beginning the opportunity for eight Reds players to get elected.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

In 2013, Votto received 5,128,515 votes, which beat second-place candidate Paul Goldschmidt of the D-backs by 4,269,685 votes. Phillips received 4,799,417 votes, which bested the Cardinals' Matt Carpenter, who received 4,337,408 votes.

The most dynamic new Reds name on the ballot this year will be rookie center fielder Billy Hamilton, who would certainly add some exciting speed to the NL squad if he were somehow elected by fans.

Also on the ballot this year for the Reds is two-time All-Star right fielder Jay Bruce, catcher Devin Mesoraco, shortstop Zack Cozart, third baseman Todd Frazier and left fielder Ryan Ludwick.

In-stadium ballots at Great American Ball Park will be available to fans from May 2-June 20.

Mark Sheldon is a reporter for Read his blog, Mark My Word, and follow him on Twitter @m_sheldon.

Cincinnati Reds, Jay Bruce, Zack Cozart, Todd Frazier, Billy Hamilton, Ryan Ludwick, Devin Mesoraco, Brandon Phillips, Joey Votto