Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Pedroia among five Sox to receive AL MVP votes

Five different Red Sox players received votes for the American League MVP Award, which was presented to Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera on Thursday night.

Dustin Pedroia led the Red Sox with 99 points and a seventh-place finish, while David Ortiz had 47 points and finished 10th. Jacoby Ellsbury (three points, 18th place), Koji Uehara (two points, T-19th) and Shane Victorino (one point, T-22nd) also received votes.

Ellsbury led the Red Sox in wins above replacement (WAR) with 5.8, Victorino had 5.6, Pedroia had 5.4 and Ortiz had 3.8. Uehara, who finished seventh in the Cy Young Award voting, contributed 3.3 WAR while Jon Lester, who didn't receive any MVP or Cy Young votes, led Red Sox pitchers with a 4.3 WAR.

For Pedroia, this marks the third time in seven seasons that he's been in the top 10 of MVP voting. He played the entire season with a torn ligament in his left thumb and watched his home run total dip from 15 to nine, but he still hit .301 while winning his third Gold Glove Award at second base. Pedroia won MVP honros in 2008 and finished ninth in '11.

Ortiz finished in the top 10 for the sixth time in his career, and first since 2007. Ortiz, 37, hit 38 doubles and 30 homers while batting .309 with a .395 on-base percentage.

Ellsbury received MVP votes for the second time in his career. He came within 38 points of winning the award in 2011, when he hit .321 with 32 home runs and 39 stolen bases before losing to Cy Young Award winner Justin Verlander, who went 24-5 with a 2.40 ERA. Ellsbury is currently a free agent.

This is the third time Victorino received MVP votes. The most points he's received on an MVP ballot was 18 in 2011, when he finished 13th in the National League race.

Uehara had never received Cy Young or MVP votes until 2013.

Jason Mastrodonato is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @jmastrodonato.

Boston Red Sox, Jacoby Ellsbury, David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia, Koji Uehara, Shane Victorino