Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

Club reps for 2014 First-Year Player Draft named

Event to be held June 5-7, with live coverage provided by, MLB Network
2014 Draft order
The order of the first round of the 2014 First-Year Player Draft:
No. Team
1 Astros
2 Marlins
3 White Sox
4 Cubs
5 Twins
6 Mariners
7 Phillies
8 Rockies
9 Blue Jays
10 Mets
11 Blue Jays (P. Bickford - unsigned)
12 Brewers
13 Padres
14 Giants
15 Angels
16 D-backs
17 Royals
18 Nationals
19 Reds
20 Rays
21 Indians
22 Dodgers
23 Tigers
24 Pirates
25 A's
26 Red Sox
27 Cardinals
28 Royals (Comp for E. Santana)
29 Reds (Comp for S. Choo)
30 Rangers (Comp for N. Cruz)
31 Indians (Comp for U. Jimenez)
32 Braves (Comp for B. McCann)
33 Red Sox (Comp for J. Ellsbury)
34 Cardinals (Comp for C. Beltran)
Click here to view the complete Draft order.

From heyday to someday.

Soon it will be time again for such legendary figures from Major League Baseball's past as Andre Dawson, Fergie Jenkins, Tony Perez and Tommy Lasorda to gather to tell stories and then take their seats at 30 club tables on the floor of Studio 42 at MLB Network in Secaucus, N.J., as a future generation of big leaguers learn of their selections at the First-Year Player Draft.

MLB on Wednesday announced the club representatives who will be on hand June 5 in that symbolic transition for the first night in a three-day process, one that begins with the top 74 selections and will be televised live on MLB Network and simulcast on The list includes those Hall of Famers, along with four Cy Young Award winners, two Most Valuable Player Award winners and 29 former All-Stars.

Jenkins, the 1971 National League Cy Young Award winner, and Dawson, the '87 NL MVP, will be joined on the floor by fellow award-winners Randy Jones ('76 NL Cy Young), Frank Viola ('88 American League Cy Young), Chris Carpenter (2005 NL Cy Young) and Ivan Rodriguez ('99 AL MVP).

For Carpenter, it will be a new kind of Cardinals leadership role, as he and his former closer Ryan Franklin handle the phone that first night for St. Louis, which will have the 27th and 34th overall selections. And how about the Red Sox's table, which will be staffed by the same Derek Lowe who 10 years ago helped Boston reverse the Curse of the Bambino? He and the Red Sox will be occupied by two picks in the first round as well, each immediately in front of those two for the Cards (26th and 33rd).

D-backs executive Roland Hemond, the 2011 recipient of the Buck O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the National Baseball Hall of Fame, will also be among the scheduled reps.

Other former All-Stars who will represent the clubs are (alphabetically): Bob Boone (Nationals), Eric Davis (Reds), Ray Fosse (A's), Ralph Garr (Braves), Luis Gonzalez (D-backs), Bryan Harvey (Angels), Brad Hawpe (Rockies), Livan Hernandez (Nationals), Charlie Hough (Dodgers), Chet Lemon (Tigers), Jeffrey Leonard (Giants), Gary Matthews (Phillies), Carlos May (White Sox), Charles Nagy (Indians), Jeff Nelson (Yankees), Paul Quantrill (Blue Jays), Jim Sundberg (Rangers), Greg Vaughn (Brewers), Jack Wilson (Pirates) and Willie Wilson (Royals).

The rest of the club reps include: Tripp Norton (Baltimore); Jim Woodward (Boston); Matt Sherman (Cubs); Kevin Coe (White Sox); Lee Seras (Cincinnati); Walker Monfort (Colorado); Murray Cook (Detroit); Adam Everett, Paul Ricciarini (Houston); Art Stewart (Kansas City); Scott Martens (Milwaukee); Corey Koskie, John Wilson (Minnesota); Jim Reeves (Mets); Andy Cannizaro (Yankees); Chris Wheeler (Philadelphia); Jimmy Nelson (San Diego); Tony Siegle (San Francisco); Scott Bradley, Mike Moriarty (Seattle); Dan Wheeler (Tampa Bay); Jay Stenhouse (Toronto).

Amateur players who will attend the Draft will be announced in the weeks ahead.

The Draft will begin live on MLB Network and at 7 p.m. ET on June 5. MLB Network will air a Draft preview show in the hour before the first selection, and that also will be simulcast live on

The selection order of the Draft is determined by the reverse order of finish at the close of the previous championship season. The Astros will have the first overall selection for the third consecutive year and the fifth time in club history (previously 1976, '92 and 2012-13). It marks the first time a club has the top pick in a third consecutive year, though the top pick alternated between leagues until 2007.

Four other clubs besides St. Louis and Boston have two selections in the first round: Toronto (ninth and 11th), Kansas City (17th and 28th), Cincinnati (19th and 29th) and Cleveland (21st and 31st). The Indians, Marlins and Royals each have an MLB-high four selections within the first 68 picks during the opening day of the Draft.

The Draft will once again feature Competitive Balance Rounds, which were agreed upon as a part of the 2012-16 Basic Agreement between MLB and the MLB Players Association. The Competitive Balance Rounds give clubs with the lowest revenues and in the smallest markets the opportunity to obtain additional Draft picks through a lottery, which was held last July.

The 10 clubs with the lowest revenues and the 10 clubs in the smallest markets were entered into a lottery for the six selections immediately following the first round of the Draft (picks 35-41; excluding pick 36, which Miami holds as compensation for an unsigned 2013 selection). The eligible clubs that did not receive one of the six selections after the first round, and all other payee clubs under the Revenue Sharing Plan, were entered into a second lottery for the six picks immediately following the second round of the Draft (picks 69-74).

The Draft will have 40 rounds, and a club may pass on its selection in any round and not forfeit its right to participate in other rounds. For Day One on June 5, MLB Network and will provide live pick-by-pick coverage during the first round, Competitive Balance Round A, the second round and Competitive Balance Round B. The intervals between selections will last 4 1/2 minutes during the first round and one minute during Competitive Balance Round A, the second round and Competitive Balance Round B.

The Draft will resume at 1:05 p.m. ET on both Friday, June 6, and Saturday, June 7, via conference call from MLB headquarters in New York. That Friday will cover rounds three through 10, and that Saturday will feature rounds 11 through 40. Rounds three through 10 will have one minute between selections, and the remainder of the selections will be made without timed delays.

Beginning with the Draft preview show, MLB Network's live coverage will feature news, analysis, interviews with club front-office personnel and representatives, footage from club Draft rooms, and features and interviews with prospects and newly drafted players. MLB Network's Greg Amsinger, Peter Gammons, John Hart, Harold Reynolds and's Jonathan Mayo will anchor the live coverage, with contributions from MLB Network's Cliff Floyd, Dan Plesac, Bill Ripken, Sam Ryan, Tom Verducci, Heidi Watney and Matt Yallof, as well as Jim Callis of and John Manuel of Baseball America. will begin its exclusive live programming of the Draft's final two days with a live Draft show from its New York studios at 12:30 p.m. ET on June 6, followed by a live pick-by-pick stream and Draft and scouting expert commentary from Mayo and Callis. It also will provide Draft Tracker, a live interactive application that includes a searchable database of more than 1,500 Draft-eligible players with statistics, scouting reports and video highlights.

Go to and for the latest information leading up to and through the hugely popular annual event.

On Twitter, the official Draft Twitter account, @MLBDraft, will provide up-to-the-moment updates and commentary while @MLBDraftTracker will tweet all picks as they are made.

Mark Newman is enterprise editor of Read and join other baseball fans on his community blog.