Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
The Official Site of the Boston Red Sox

news

Red Sox News

Cubs, Red Sox to close ST with pair of games

Clubs meet March 26-27 at JetBlue Park in Fort Myers, Fla.
MLB.com @CarrieMuskat

CHICAGO -- The Cubs and Red Sox will close Spring Training with two exhibitions at the Red Sox's Spring Training home, JetBlue Park, in Fort Myers, Fla.

The games will be played March 26 at 6:05 p.m. ET/5:05 p.m. CT and March 27 at 1:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. CT as the final tuneups before the regular season.

CHICAGO -- The Cubs and Red Sox will close Spring Training with two exhibitions at the Red Sox's Spring Training home, JetBlue Park, in Fort Myers, Fla.

The games will be played March 26 at 6:05 p.m. ET/5:05 p.m. CT and March 27 at 1:05 p.m. ET/12:05 p.m. CT as the final tuneups before the regular season.

Playing on the East Coast will benefit the Cubs, who open the regular season March 29 in Miami against the Marlins. Chicago will play its last Cactus League game March 25 against the Royals in Surprise, Ariz.

The Red Sox won't have far to travel once spring games are done. They begin the regular season in St. Petersburg against their American League East rivals, the Rays, on March 29.

Carrie Muskat has covered the Cubs since 1987, and for MLB.com since 2001. She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings, and you can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boston Red Sox, Chicago Cubs