Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

CarGo hauls in Rockies' Wilson defensive award

DENVER -- The art and science of the fielding of Rockies left fielder Carlos Gonzalez earned him yet another defensive award, the Rockies' Wilson Defensive Player of the Year.

Last week, it was announced that Gonzalez won his second National League Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

The Wilson Defensive Player of the Year awards, which were announced by MLB Network, were determined by the detailed statistical analysis of MLB Network's "shredder system," which is used by the Network's Clubhouse Confidential show, along with input from MLB Network analysts.

MLB Network also came up with the best overall defensive team, the Atlanta Braves, and overall National League and American League Defensive Players of the Year -- the Braves' Michael Bourn and the Angels' Mike Trout.

Since joining the Rockies in 2009, Gonzalez has played all three outfield positions, but he spent all of 2012 in left field.

Gonzalez played 131 games in left and finished fifth among NL left fielders with seven assists. Since 2010, he leads NL left fielders with 27 outfield assists and has the third-most assists among all NL outfielders. Gonzalez posted a .982 fielding percentage in 2012, and his .992 overall fielding percentage since 2010 is fifth among NL left fielders who have played at least 200 games.

The postseason awards will continue, with the GIBBY Awards high on that list.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels. Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Colorado Rockies, Carlos Gonzalez