Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

CarGo headlines Rockies' GIBBY nominees

DENVER -- Rockies All-Star left fielder Carlos Gonzalez earned a spot in the history books with home runs in four straight plate appearances, which covered games against the Astros on May 30 and 31.

Gonzalez was the 22nd player in history to accomplish the feat, and the first to do so since Albert Pujols in 2006.

Fans will play a role in determining how memorable that Gonzalez's power streak was. The home-run spurt has been nominated for a 2012 Greatness in Baseball Yearly Award, better known as the GIBBY Award, for Top Hitting Performance. It was one of three feats vying for the honor.

Also, Rockies catcher Wilin Rosario's 28-homer season has made him a nominee for Top Rookie, and a home run-robbing catch by Tyler Colvin -- he reached over the center-field wall and stole a home run from the Athletics' Cliff Pennington at Coors Field on June 12 -- is up for Top Defensive Play.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2012 GIBBYs trophies -- the ultimate honors of the sport's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels.

In the past four years, you the fans have cast more than 40 million votes across the various GIBBYs categories, none of which were restricted to individual League affiliation.

You can vote as many times as you want until fan balloting closes Sunday, Dec. 2, at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Colorado Rockies, Tyler Colvin, Carlos Gonzalez, Wilin Rosario