Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Fans can reward Blackmon, Rox with All-Star vote

April star, 2013 ASG starters Tulowitzki, Cuddyer, CarGo among Rockies on ballot

Outfielder Charlie Blackmon's .410 start to the season has made him one of the attention-grabbers of the young season -- and Rockies fans have a chance to give him a wider forum, with voting for the July 15 All-Star Game beginning.

Also, Rockies stars such as shortstop Troy Tulowitzki, outfielders Michael Cuddyer and Carlos Gonzalez and impact newcomer Justin Morneau, are in position to confirm their stardom.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 9:59 p.m. MT. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Blackmon put up decent numbers in parts of three seasons -- enough that manager Walt Weiss planned on him as the leadoff hitter for this season. All Blackmon has done during the first month is have two four-run games, three three-RBI games and a rare 6-for-6 -- in the home-opening 12-2 victory over the D-backs.

Tulowitzki, Cuddyer and Gonzalez all started last year's Midsummer Classic in New York at Citi Field. Tulowitzki is hot as well, with a .388 batting average, four home runs and 16 RBIs. Cuddyer, currently on the 15-day disabled list with a left hamstring injury, has a .317 average with four homers and 13 RBIs. Gonzalez has struggled of late, but is batting .266 with four homers and 14 RBIs, and he is capable of getting hot.

Morneau, who signed a two-year contract with the Rockies during the offseason, has batted .347 with five home runs and a team-leading 17 RBIs.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 6 p.m. MT on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Thomas Harding is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @harding_at_mlb.

Colorado Rockies, Nolan Arenado, Charlie Blackmon, Michael Cuddyer, Carlos Gonzalez, DJ LeMahieu, Justin Morneau, Wilin Rosario, Troy Tulowitzki