Fan balloting underway for Clemente Award

September 4th, 2018

Throughout his distinguished Hall of Fame career, Roberto Clemente was perhaps just as known for his prowess on the baseball diamond as he was for his philanthropical efforts off it. And today, the award recognizing the player who best represents the game through extraordinary character, community involvement, philanthropy and positive contributions bears Clemente's name.

VOTE NOW: Cast your ballot for the Clemente Award

Every year, each club nominates a player to be considered for the Roberto Clemente Award, and the 30 nominees were announced by Major League Baseball on Tuesday. Many of this year's nominees have been actively involved in their local community and abroad with initiatives that have focused on awareness and fundraising for the fight against childhood cancer and other illnesses, education for young people and Hurricane Maria relief among other efforts.

The league-wide winner of the Clemente Award will be selected by a blue ribbon panel that includes Commissioner Rob Manfred, Clemente's late wife and current MLB Goodwill Ambassador, Vera Clemente, as well as representatives from MLB-affiliated networks and Fans can also vote for the winner at, with the winner of that tally counting as one vote among those cast by the blue-ribbon panel.

• All-time winners

Each of the 30 nominees will be honored by their respective clubs, including many on Wednesday as part of Roberto Clemente Day ceremonies, a league-wide initiative that has been in place since 2002. As part of the celebrations, the Roberto Clemente Day logo will appear on the bases and official dugout lineup cards, and a special tribute video will play. Clubs that are on the road will recognize their nominee on a subsequent homestand. The league-wide winner of the Clemente Award will be announced during the World Series.

Here are the 30 nominees:

Arizona Diamondbacks --

Atlanta Braves --

Baltimore Orioles -- Chris Davis

Boston Red Sox --

Chicago Cubs --

Chicago White Sox --

Cincinnati Reds --

Cleveland Indians --

Colorado Rockies --

Detroit Tigers --

Houston Astros -- Charlie Morton

Kansas City Royals -- Danny Duffy

Los Angeles Angels --

Los Angeles Dodgers --

Miami Marlins --

Milwaukee Brewers --

Minnesota Twins -- Joe Mauer

New York Mets --

New York Yankees --

Oakland Athletics --

Philadelphia Phillies --

Pittsburgh Pirates --

St. Louis Cardinals --

San Diego Padres --

San Francisco Giants --

Seattle Mariners --

Tampa Bay Rays --

Texas Rangers -- Cole Hamels*

Toronto Blue Jays --

Washington Nationals --

*Hamels remains the Rangers' nominee despite being traded to the Cubs on July 27.

"I am very proud of the great philanthropic efforts of our players," Manfred said in a statement. "Through wide-ranging work and actions, these 30 nominees honor Roberto Clemente's legacy of being exemplary community ambassadors. Roberto's unwavering humanitarian spirit continues to inspire our players and fans and serves as a positive example for future generations."

The Clemente Award was renamed in 1973 to honor the 15-time All-Star shortly after his tragic death on New Year's Eve months prior during a plane crash while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua. The award was previously called the "Commissioner's Award" and was established in 1971.