Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

CC, Hall of Famers to be Draft representatives

Baseball's next generation of talent will be welcomed by a distinguished group of ambassadors. Four Hall of Famers, several former managers and one current Cy Young Award contender will be among the familiar faces who serve as club representatives at the annual First-Year Player Draft.

CC Sabathia, the 20th overall selection in 1998, will be on hand to represent the Yankees at the Draft headquarters in Secaucus, N.J., and he'll have plenty of famous company.

Hall of Famers Ferguson Jenkins, Pat Gillick and Tommy Lasorda will represent the Cubs, Phillies and the Dodgers, respectively, while Frank Robinson will stand in for the Office of the Commissioner. Robinson, ninth on the all-time home run list, will be assisted in that capacity by four-time World Series-winning manager Joe Torre, who attended the Draft last year for the first time.

The annual First-Year Player Draft will take place on June 4-6, beginning with the first round and compensation round A on Monday, June 4, at 7 p.m. ET. The first night of the event will be broadcast live on MLB Network and streamed live on Rounds 2-40 will be streamed live on on June 5-6.

2012 Draft Representatives
Team Representatives
Angels Dick Schofield, Nick Gorneault
Astros Larry Dierker, Ed Fastaia
Athletics Chad Bradford
Blue Jays Pat Hentgen, Mal Romanin
Braves Ralph Garr, Mark Lemke
Brewers Don Money, Mark Mueller
Cardinals Ryan Franklin
Cubs Ferguson Jenkins, John Ceprini
D-backs Luis Gonzalez, Roland Hemond
Dodgers Tommy Lasorda, Ron Cey
Giants J.T. Snow, Tony Siegle
Indians Mike Hargrove
Mariners Mike Cameron, Brian Nichols
Marlins Jack McKeon, Bill Beck
Mets Mookie Wilson, Donovan Mitchell
Nationals Bob Boone, Pat Corrales
Orioles Brady Anderson
Padres Brad Ausmus, Adam Bourassa
Phillies Pat Gillick, Bill Giles
Pirates Kent Tekulve, Mike LaValliere
Rangers Ivan Rodriguez, Jim Sundberg
Rays Roberto Hernandez, Rick Vaughn
Red Sox Dwight Evans, Blair Henry
Reds Sean Casey
Rockies Garrett Atkins, Mike Garlatti
Royals Willie Mays Aikens, Art Stewart
Tigers Murray Cook
Twins Tony Oliva, John Wilson
White Sox Ron Karkovice, Kevin Coe
Yankees CC Sabathia, Tim McIntosh
MLB Joe Torre, Frank Robinson
Representatives in bold are members of the Hall of Fame's coverage, sponsored by CenturyLink, will include Draft Central, the Top 100 Draft Prospects list and Draft Tracker, a live interactive application that includes a searchable database of Draft-eligible players. You can also keep up to date by following @MLBDraft on Twitter. And get into the Draft conversation by tagging your tweets with #mlbdraft.

There will be baseball alumni from every level of the Draft throughout the room. Sean Casey, a former second-round pick, will represent the Reds, while Brad Ausmus -- selected in the 48th round of the 1987 First-Year Player Draft -- will be on hand to announce San Diego's pick.

The group of representatives will also include a healthy selection of former managers. Larry Dierker (Houston), Jack McKeon (Miami), Mike Hargrove (Cleveland), Bob Boone (Washington) and Pat Corrales (Washington) will be in that group, and Gillick will be in fine company with distinguished former general manager Roland Hemond, who will be representing Arizona.

The Rangers will have a pair of catchers with serious longevity -- Ivan Rodriguez and Jim Sundberg -- to call out their picks, while the Mets will have Mookie Wilson, who helped author one of the most famous moments in franchise history in Game 6 of the 1986 World Series.

Iconic players Dwight Evans (Boston), Luis Gonzalez (Arizona) and Tony Oliva (Minnesota) will represent the teams they played for during their productive careers, and recent retirees Mike Cameron (Seattle), Ryan Franklin (St. Louis) and Chad Bradford (Oakland) will be in attendance.

Sabathia will be joined by Pat Hentgen (Toronto) for the Cy Young-winning section of the room, and Brady Anderson -- who hit 50 homers in 1996 -- will represent the Orioles. Kent Tekulve and Mike LaValliere -- two links to competitive Pittsburgh teams of the past -- will be on hand for the Pirates.

Willie Mays Aikens will represent the Royals, and J.T. Snow, a fifth-round pick in 1989, will call out the picks for San Francisco, the team he played for in the 2002 World Series. Infielders Ron Cey (Dodgers), Dick Schofield (Angels) and Mark Lemke (Atlanta) will also be in attendance.