Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Frenchy, Gordon, Moustakas nominated for GIBBYs
KANSAS CITY -- Just when you thought election season was over, three Royals are candidates on a GIBBYs ballot.

That's the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards, for which fans may cast their votes on Royals fans can weigh in on the worthiness of left fielder Alex Gordon, third baseman Mike Moustakas and right fielder Jeff Francoeur in three categories.

Gordon, already a two-time Gold Glove Award winner, and Moustakas, who gained rave notices in the field this season, are up for Defensive Player of the Year.

Each club has a one nominee for a Play of the Year, and Moustakas is the Royals' candidate for his recovery of an overthrown ball that bounced off a dugout post in St. Louis and a throw that nailed Tyler Greene at the plate, ending a 3-2 K.C. win.

Francoeur is also cited for a grab -- of a handful of popcorn from a fan's box that he munched after chasing a foul ball to the rail at Chicago. That comes in the Oddity category.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2012 GIBBYs trophies -- the ultimate honors of the sport's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 21 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels.

In the past four years, you, the fans, have cast more than 40 million votes across the various categories, none of which is restricted to individual league affiliation.

You can vote as many times as you want until fan balloting closes on Sunday, Dec. 2, at 10:59 p.m. CT.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Dick Kaegel is a reporter for

Jeff Francoeur, Alex Gordon, Mike Moustakas