Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from mlb, originally published .

Read more news at:

2013 Royals Hall of Fame vote results

No Inductee Selected for 2013; Next Vote Set for 2015

KANSAS CITY, MO (July 26, 2013) - The Kansas City Royals have announced no eligible player on the Royals Hall of Fame Ballot reached the 75 percent vote threshold for induction this year. The next Royals Hall of Fame (Regular Phase) vote will take place in 2015.

The vote included the nineteen living Royals Hall of Fame Members, select media members, select Royals Front Office staff and Royals fans via online voting. To be eligible, players must have spent a minimum of three seasons with the club and ceased to be an active on-field member of the Royals (or for any other Major League organization) for at least three calendar years. Eligible players must be named on at least 75 percent of all ballots cast to be elected. To remain on the ballot for the next Royals Hall of Fame voting cycle, eligible players must receive a minimum of ten percent of all ballots cast.

Established in 1986, the Royals Hall of Fame celebrates the accomplishments of those players, coaches and other personnel who have made exceptional contributions to Kansas City Royals Baseball.

The first inductees were outfielder Amos Otis and pitcher Steve Busby. They have been joined by pitcher Paul Splittorff, second baseman Cookie Rojas, Manager Dick Howser, pitcher Dennis Leonard, designated hitter Hal McRae, shortstop Fred Patek, Club President Joe Burke, pitcher Larry Gura, Royals founders Ewing and Muriel Kauffman, third baseman George Brett, second baseman Frank White, first baseman John Mayberry, pitcher Dan Quisenberry, Manager Whitey Herzog, center fielder Willie Wilson, pitcher Jeff Montgomery, broadcaster Denny Matthews, pitcher Bret Saberhagen, pitcher Mark Gubicza, scout Art Stewart, pitcher Kevin Appier, and Groundskeeper George Toma.

The Royals Hall of Fame Veterans Committee meets in even-numbered years to consider the candidacy of non-player personnel and players who received Royals Hall of Fame Voting (Regular Phase) votes but are no longer eligible for election in that manner. The veterans committee will convene again in 2014. 

For more information, members of the media may contact Royals Hall of Fame Director Curt Nelson at (816) 504-4337.

2013 Royals Hall of Fame Voting Above 10% Threshold

Bo Jackson                         32.5%

John Wathan                    32.5%

Kevin Seitzer                    27.5%

Darrell Porter                   17.5%

Al Cowens                         17.5%

Al Fitzmorris                    15.0%

*75% needed for induction


Previous Hall of Fame inductees include:

1986: Pitcher Steve Busby and Outfielder Amos Otis

1987: Manager Dick Howser, Second Baseman Cookie Rojas and Pitcher Paul Splittorff

1989: Pitcher Dennis Leonard and Designated Hitter Hal McRae

1992: Club President Joe Burke, Pitcher Larry Gura and Shortstop Fred Patek

1993: Owner Ewing Kauffman

1994: Third Baseman George Brett

1995: Second Baseman Frank White

1996: Royals First Lady Muriel Kauffman and First Baseman John Mayberry

1998: Relief Pitcher Dan Quisenberry

2000: Manager Whitey Herzog and Outfielder Willie Wilson 

2003: Pitcher Jeff Montgomery

2004: Radio Broadcaster Denny Matthews

2005: Pitcher Bret Saberhagen

2006: Pitcher Mark Gubicza

2008: Scout Art Stewart

2011: Pitcher Kevin Appier

2012: Groundskeeper George Toma (Veterans Committee)

Kansas City Royals