Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

This article was printed from, originally published .

Read more news at:

Call at second confirmed after Maddon challenge

KANSAS CITY -- For a second consecutive night, the Rays challenged and lost.

Tuesday night, Rays manager Joe Maddon issued a challenge after Alcides Escobar was ruled safe on a force play at second base with one out in the bottom of the third.

View Full Game Coverage

Rays second baseman Ben Zobrist received a throw from shortstop Yunel Escobar, and the ball dropped to the field. The umpires ruled that Zobrist did not have control of the ball.

Maddon consulted with the umpires before asking for the replay. The umpires confirmed the original call.

Maddon maintained that Zobrist caught the ball with one hand then dropped the ball trying to turn a double play, so the out should have been called at second. Though he allowed that with the way the transfer rule is being called, the correct call was made, he said the rule needed to be adjusted.

"They're saying the ball dropped there; it was not controlled, therefore the runner is safe," Maddon said. "I disagree with that. It depends on what the middle infielder did for the ball to arrive on the ground prior to that, which should determine safe or out. Not just this blanket statement, one size fits all. Ball on the ground: runner safe."

Maddon elaborated by contending that the rule should pertain to balls dropped when the pivot man has both hands in his glove and never controls the ball.

The review took one minute, eight seconds, and Zobrist was awarded an error.

All runners being safe on the play put Royals runners at first and second with one out. A bunt single loaded the bases before Eric Hosmer then grounded into a double play to end the inning. Tampa Bay went on to win the game, 1-0. The Rays lost their first challenge of the season on Monday night. They are now 2-2 on challenges.

Bill Chastain is a reporter for

Ben Zobrist